van Gisbergen, Tander announced in PI101 field

Australian Endurance Championship at Phillip Island in 2017

Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander will compete in this weekend’s Phillip Island 101, the second round of the Australian Endurance Championship.

A total of 35 cars have been entered across the Phillip Island 101 and Australian GT Trophy Series round, the former of which also serves as Round 4 of the Australian GT Championship.

Van Gisbergen will drive the McLaren 650S which he piloted in February’s Bathurst 12 Hour alongside Duvashen Padayachee.

The New Zealander finished 11th in Round 1 of the AEC at The Bend when he drove Tony Quinn’s McLaren.

Tander again partners up with Geoff Emery at Jamec Pem Racing, that combination having finished 12th at The Bend having opted to re-take a compulsory pit stop after the car moved during the first.

Emery won the intervening round of the Australian GT Championship at Sandown thanks in part to victory in Race 3 at the Melbourne circuit.

A host of Pirtek Enduro Cup co-drivers again feature in the field, namely Tony D’Alberto, Warren Luff, David Russell, Steve Richards, and Luke Youlden.

D’Alberto currently shares the AEC lead with Max Twigg after they won the first round in the latter’s Mercedes-AMG GT3.

They will drive together again while Luff continues with Tony Walls in a McLaren 650S and Youlden with Yasser Shahin in a Mercedes-AMG GT3.

Richards has Michael Almond in the BMW Team SRM M6 GT3 after Ricky Capo drove with him at Sandown, and David Russell steers the Aussie Driver Search entry with Jaie Robson as that outfit switches to a recently-acquired Audi R8 LMS.

John Martin, who sat out the Sandown round for strategic reasons, is back in the driver’s seat of the Walkinshaw GT3 alongside Australian GT Championship leader Liam Talbot.

Meanwhile, the Trophy Series will have two 50-minute races on the Saturday.

Combined, the two Australian GT rounds represent 12 sessions and nearly nine hours of track time, and the largest fleet of Australian GT cars at a single meeting.

The Phillip Island 101 is scheduled for Sunday afternoon as the headline act of Round 3 of Shannons Nationals (June 1-3).

Entry list: Australian Endurance Championship Round 2 (Australian GT Championship Round 4)/Australian GT Trophy Series Round 3, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Drivers Car Class
1 Valvoline Geoff Emery
Garth Tander
Audi R8 LMS Championship
3 Ah Apartments Ash Samadi
Dylan O’Keeffe
Audi R8 LMS Championship
6 Wall Racing Adrian Deitz
Cameron McConville
Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Championship
7 Mariani Beef Jerky Tony Quinn
McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
8 WM Waste Management Max Twigg
Tony D’Alberto
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
10 International Motorsport Andrew Fawcett
Jonny Reid
Audi R8 LMS Championship
11 Objective Racing Tony Walls
Warren Luff
McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
12 Seidler Group Chris Seidler
Luke Seidler
Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Car Trophy
13 RHC Jorgensen – Strom by MARC Cars Daren Jorgensen
Brett Strom
BMW M4 GT4 GT4, Trophy
23 Kentucky Fried Chicken Matthew Stoupas Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy
24 KFC/Ctech Laser/Moveitnet/B&B Tony Bates
Daniel Gaunt
Audi R8 LMS Championship
33 RHC Jorgensen-Strom by MARC Cars Brett Strom MARC Mazda V8 Trophy
34 Motorsport Leasing / RaceRamps John Morriss Porsche 911 GT3 R Trophy
48 Forum Group / M Motorsport Vince Tesoriero
Glen Wood
49 Exedra / M Motorpsort Dean Koutsoumidis
James Winslow
Lamborghini R-EX Championship
50 Vantage Freight / M Motorsport David Crampton
Trent Harrison
55 Hogs Breath Café / Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith
Ginetta G55 GT4 GT4
58 175 Group / Intergrated Rail Duvashen Padayachee
Shane van Gisbergen
McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
59 Total Oil / Opti-Coat / Logitech Fraser Ross
Jaxon Evans
McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
63 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett
Jake Fouracre
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
64 Aaron Laboratories Joseph Ensabella Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Car Trophy
67 JMG / Bilstein Jeremy Gray
Andrew Miedecke
Aston Martin Vantage GT4 GT4
71 Dale Paterson Motorsports Dale Paterson Chevrolet Camaro Trophy
77 JJA Consulting Group Jan Jinadasa Lamborghini Gallardo GT3 Trophy
88 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards Ferrari 458 GT3 Championship
93 LOCAL Search by MARC Cars Adam Hargraves MARC Mazda V8 Trophy
98 Aussie Driver Search Jaie Robson
David Russell
Audi R8 LMS Championship
99 Industrie Nick Kelly Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy
100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards
Michael Almond
BMW M6 GT3 Championship
147 Superfluid Dave Stevens Ferrari 458 GT3 Trophy
188 E.A.T. Furniture Rio Nugara Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor
Craig Baird
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
777 The Bend Motor Sport Park Yasser Shahin
Luke Youlden
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
911 Walkinshaw GT3 Liam Talbot
John Martin
Porsche 911 GT3 R Championship
991 Perfect Auto Body Vincent Muriti Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy

Schedule: Australian Endurance Championship Round 2 (Australian GT Championship Round 4)/Australian GT Trophy Series Round 3

Time Session Length/Distance
Friday June 1
1035 Australian GT Trophy Series Practice 1 30min
1310 Australian GT Trophy Series Practice 2 30min
1420 Australian GT Championship Practice 1 30min
1515 Australian GT Trophy Series Qualifying 1 15min
1535 Australian GT Trophy Series Qualifying 2 15min
Saturday June 2
0955 Australian GT Championship Practice 2 30min
1100 Australian GT Trophy Series Race 1 50min
1350 Australian GT Championship Qualifying 1 25min
1430 Australian GT Championship Qualifying 2 25min
1540 Australian GT Trophy Series Race 2 50min
Sunday June 3
1005 Australian GT Championship Warmup 10min
1305 Phillip Island 101 101 laps

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]