Alexander takes out SuperUtes Race 3 at Winton

Tom Alexander

Ross Stone Racing’s Tom Alexander has notched up his second race win of the weekend and with that taken out Round 2 of the ECB SuperUtes Series at Winton.

Alexander led virtually all the way and finished a comfortable margin ahead of Ryal Harris, while Toby Price took third.

Aaron Cameron and Alexander shared the front row and it was the latter in the #22 Holden Colorado who took the lead around the outside of Turn 1.

Harris (Mazda BT-50) got up the inside of Peters Motorsport team-mate Cameron (Mazda BT-50) to move into second at the Turn 5 sweeper, as Alexander pulled clear.

The Kiwi’s advantage was three seconds after as many laps, while Cameron’s initial pressure on Harris faded as he was caught by Price (Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton).

Alexander and Harris traded quick laps as the margin slowly diminished, but never at a rate at which it looked like the leader might be threatened.

Having also won Race 1, Alexander took out the round overall while Harris closed to four points behind front-runner Craig Woods in the series standings.

Price got by Cameron on the main straight with three laps to go when the 18-year-old appeared to miss a gear, and they ran third and fourth to the chequered flag.

Woods (Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux) took sixth, from Tomas Gasperak (Team 18 Holden Colorado), Ben Walsh (WSM Hilux), Matt MacKelden (SRT Hilux), Steve Wilson (Steve Wilson Racing Isuzu D-Max), and Christopher Formosa (Ranger Racing Ford Ranger).

Craig Dontas was again a non-finisher after his SRT Triton overheated.

Round 3 will support the Watpac Townsville 400 on July 6-8.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 22 SP Tools Tom Alexander Holden Colorado 9 15:39.0522
2 58 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 9 15:41.0928
3 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 9 15:43.6765
4 95 Bushranger Racing Aaron Cameron Mazda BT50 9 15:44.2187
5 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 9 15:52.4646
6 18 AC Delco Racing Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado 9 15:53.5026
7 8 Car City Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 9 15:55.5832
8 99 Kubota Tractors Australia Matthew MacKelden Toyota Hilux 9 16:06.2209
9 3 WIL-TOW Australia Steve Wilson Isuzu D-Max 9 16:08.9307
10 49 Allgate Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 9 16:09.3234
DNF 45 Team Mitsubishi Triton Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton 1 1:55.7089

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Craig Woods 306
2 Ryal Harris 302
3 Toby Price 295
4 Aaron Cameron 275
5 Matthew MacKelden 265
6 Tom Alexander 264
7 Tomas Gasperak 260
8 Ben Walsh 210
9 Craig Dontas 139
10 Christopher Formosa 121
11 Steve Wilson 119

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]