Hamilton pips Bottas to Spanish GP pole

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton will start the Spanish Grand Prix from pole position as Mercedes dominated qualifying in Barcelona.

The reigning world champion claimed his 74th career pole with an impressive 1:16.173s effort set on his final run in Q3.

Hamilton had put down a marker after the first run but went on to shave another three tenths from his benchmark to claim pole from team-mate Valtteri Bottas.

Bottas pushed Hamilton hard ending up just 0.040s shy of his opposite number.

“I need this pole, I have not had one for a while,” said Hamilton.

Ferrari locked out the second row with Sebastian Vettel third ahead of team-mate Kimi Raikkonen, having opted to fit softs instead of the faster supersoft tyres for their final runs.

“I’m very happy with that lap to be honest. The car was good, a bit of understeer, but I gave it all I could,” said Vettel.

Red Bull set a strong pace after the first runs with Max Verstappen second and Daniel Ricciardo third, but the pair slid back to fifth and sixth after their final flying laps.

The pair were more than 0.6s adrift of Hamilton.

“I didn’t really know what to expect,” said Ricciardo.

“We never really know until qualifying. In Q3 I think we (myself and Max Verstappen) both put in a strong lap on the supersofts which wasn’t our preferred tyre.

“I thought we were more comfortable on the softs so that is why I went for that in the second part of Q3.

“They (Mercedes and Ferrari) put in some belters at the end. It is a little bit disheartening because I don’t really know what more I could have done.

“I thought we would be a couple of tenths from pole but it is six or seven, so that gap is not so nice.”

Kevin Magnussen was seventh for Haas F1 ahead of Fernando Alonso (McLaren), Carlos Sainz (Renault) and Romain Grosjean (Haas F1).

McLaren’s Stoffel Vandoorne will start 11th after narrowly missing out on Q3.

He will share the sixth row with Toro Rosso’s Pierre Gasly, who finished ahead of Esteban Ocon (Force India), Charles Leclerc (Sauber) and Sergio Perez (Force India).

Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg made a surprise exit in Q1 after he was placed in the elimination zone following a late effort from Force India’s Ocon.

The German will start from 16th alongside Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson.

Williams continued to struggle with Sergey Sirotkin and Lance Stroll failing to progress from Q1.

Stroll will head up the penultimate row of the grid after his session ended in the barriers with an unusual spin on the exit of Turn 12 as the first segment of qualifying came to a close.

The aftermath of Brendon Hartley’s shunt in Practice 3 pic: F1 Twitter

Sirotkin ended the session in 17th although a three-place grid penalty for an incident during the Azerbaijan Grand Prix will see him start from the final row.

He will share that with Toro Rosso’s Brendon Hartley, who failed to make qualifying after severely damaging his car following a big shunt at Turn 9 in Practice 3.

The Kiwi escaped unscathed but will need to accrue a special dispensation to start Sunday’s race.

“I can feel it in my head and neck a little bit. It was a big impact but everyone is working hard to get the car ready for tomorrow,” said Hartley.

The Spanish Grand Prix is scheduled to begin at 2310 AEST.

Results: Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Qualifying

Position Driver Car Time Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m16.173s
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m16.213s 0.040s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m16.305s 0.132s
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m16.612s 0.439s
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1m16.816s 0.643s
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m16.818s 0.645s
7 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1m17.676s 1.503s
8 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Renault 1m17.721s 1.548s
9 Carlos Sainz Renault 1m17.790s 1.617s
10 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m17.835s 1.662s
11 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Renault 1m18.323s 2.150s
12 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso/Honda 1m18.463s 2.290s
13 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1m18.696s 2.523s
14 Charles Leclerc Sauber/Ferrari 1m18.910s 2.737s
15 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m19.098s 2.925s
16 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1m18.923s 2.750s
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1m19.493s 3.320s
18 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1m20.225s 4.052s
19 Sergey Sirotkin Williams/Mercedes 1m19.695s 3.522s
20 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso/Honda

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]