Zarco tops Jerez MotoGP test

Johann Zarco

Johann Zarco has finished fastest in the post-race Jerez MotoGP test from Cal Crutchlow and Dani Pedrosa.

Zarco lapped within a tenth of the new outright lap record which Crutchlow set during the race weekend’s qualifying session.

The Tech3 Yamaha rider had already gone to the top of the timesheets before improving to that 1:37.730s lap.

Crutchlow was the previous fast man and the LCR rider finished 0.217s slower, but just ahead of the first of the factory Hondas in Dani Pedrosa.

On the other Repsol Honda, Jerez race winner Marc Marquez ended the day in fifth position as between them they tried a number of new aerodynamic options.

Splitting them was Movistar Yamaha’s Maverick Viñales, while Jack Miller put himself ninth-fastest on his Pramac Ducati.

The field also tested a new soft compound rear Michelin tyre during the day.

The Ducati Team, Suzuki Ecstar, and Gresini Aprilia sat out the test, as did Pramac Ducati’s Danilo Petruccu and Tech3’s Hafizh Syahrin, the latter after he had a bicycle crash before the race weekend.

Round 5 of MotoGP takes place in Le Mans, France on May 18-20.

In-season testing: Jerez

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:37.730
2 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:37.947 0.217/0.217
3 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:37.980 0.250/0.033
4 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:38.139 0.409/0.159
5 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:38.232 0.502/0.093
6 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:38.288 0.558/0.056
7 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:38.304 0.574/0.016
8 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:38.444 0.714/0.140
9 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:38.586 0.856/0.142
10 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:38.673 0.943/0.087
11 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:38.674 0.944/0.001
12 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:38.684 0.954/0.010
13 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:39.135 1.405/0.451
14 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:39.232 1.502/0.097
15 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:39.643 1.913/0.411
16 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:39.720 1.990/0.077
18 Xavi CARDELUS AND Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:45.040 7.310/5.320
9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]