Aaren Russell joins Aus Prototype field

Aaren Russell

Aaren Russell will race in Round 2 of the Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels this weekend at Sandown.

Russell is set to make his APS debut in the family’s recently-acquired Radical SR3.

The idea for the Nissan Motorsport co-driver to race a Radical came about in slightly unusual circumstances.

“It’s something that only came together a month ago,” explained Russell.

“We got Dad (Wayne) a Radical drive day voucher for his Birthday. He took John (Fuller) from (sponsor) Plus Fitness along and had the most fun.

“We saw it as another way we could service corporate clients – putting them in the passenger seat and having some fun.

“Personally, it’s also a great way to get some miles before the enduros as well.

“They’re very different to a Supercar but they’re such nimble, cool little cars. I can’t speak highly enough about driving them; they do what you want them to, you drive them hard and they’ve got lots of aero.

“We have purposefully left this car with the sequential shifter, rather than paddle shifters, so it’s all the same motions as the Supercar.”

The start will for now be a one-off, with Russell stating that entering subsequent APS rounds “depends on how this weekend goes and how it pans out.”

Russell will co-drive with Andre Heimgartner in this year’s Pirtek Enduro Cup, which begins with the Sandown 500 on September 14-16.

He will be part of a 13-car grid this weekend, with John-Paul Drake the highest-placed driver in the field given the absence of Round 1 winner Peter Paddon.

APS will race on the Shannons Nationals card with a new format of a 25-minute race on Saturday and 35-minute race on Sunday instead of three sprints.

Practice takes place on Friday May 11.

Entry list: Round 2, Sandown International Motor Raceway

Num Class Team/Sponsor Driver State Car
1 P1 Laucke Flour Mills Mark Laucke SA West WX10
5 Radical RA Motorsport Simon Haggarty NSW Radical SR3
6 Radical RA Motorsport Tony Haggarty NSW Radical SR3
7 Kumho Cup Keough Racing Brenton Keough QLD West WR1000
8 P1 Racesah Pty Ltd/Jam Motorsport Sage Murdoch NSW Wolf GB08CN
27 Radical Go Karts Go/Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell NSW Radical SR3
38 Radical RA Motorsport Mitchell Neilson NSW Radical SR3
42 Radical Hughes Supercar Services Philip Hughes VIC Radical SR3
44 P1 Mirage Racing – Marina Mirage Gold Coast Jason Makris QLD Wolf GB08CN
66 P1 Jam Motorsport John-Paul Drake SA Wolf GB08CN
68 Radical Kim Burke Kim Burke NSW Radical SR3
81 Radical GWR/991Racing.net Chris Perini NSW Radical SR3
86 P1 Conquest Services Dimitrios Zartaloudis VIC Radical SR8

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]