Marquez wins, rivals crash spectacularly in Spain

Mar Marquez leads the factory Ducatis and team-mate Dani Pedrosa before their crash pic:

Marc Marquez has won the Spanish MotoGP as Jorge Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso, and Dani Pedrosa crashed together while battling for second.

Marquez looked to already have the race sewn up but a spectacular moment with seven-and-a-half laps remaining made sure of that when Lorenzo and Pedrosa came together and skittled each other and Dovizioso.

The crash handed unlikely podiums to Johann Zarco and Andrea Iannone, and a sixth position to Jack Miller, while Marquez now takes over the championship lead.

Lorenzo made a storming start from the inside of the front row and headed Pedrosa, Zarco, lap record-breaking pole-sitter Cal Crutchlow, and Marquez through the opening corners.

The defending champion was making light work of the task ahead before bravely firing his Repsol Honda down the inside of team-mate Pedrosa at the Criville Corner to take over second position in Lap 3 of 25.

Lorenzo, Marquez, and Pedrosa remained tight until the former had a moment at Criville on Lap 8, presenting a relatively easy pass for #93 two corners later.

The contest allowed Dovizioso, by then fourth, to catch up and he soon passed Pedrosa.

However, the Italian could find no way past factory Ducati team-mate Lorenzo, handing a break to Marquez.

The leader had a heart-stopper at Criville on Lap 13 when he came across dust sprayed onto the track in an earlier crash for Thomas Luthi (Marc VDS Honda).

Marquez left a huge liquorice mark as his Honda broke into a slide which the 25-year-old somehow saved.

Pedrosa and Dovizioso quickly swapped and swapped back third position after #04 tried to fashion a move on #99, just as Marquez raised eyebrows again in rolling out the fastest lap of the race on Lap 16.

pic: MotoGP Twitter

The fight for second ignited two laps later at Dry Sack when Dovizioso got down the inside of Lorenzo but ran deep.

Lorenzo attempted to cut back on a tight exit but Pedrosa had already filled the space.

They hit, causing Pedrosa a second sickening highside in three races and Lorenzo to take out his team-mate by the front wheel.

Pedrosa staggered to his feet while Dovizioso remonstrated with Lorenzo.

Race Direction announced that the incident was under investigation but would declare no further action to be taken shortly after the finish.

Zarco inherited second position, six seconds off the lead, and had a lonely run home on his Tech3 Yamaha.

Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati) and Iannone duelled for what had become a podium position, the latter ultimately prevailing on his Suzuki Ecstar entry.

Petrucci ended up just beating Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) to fourth after ‘The Doctor’ re-passed Miller (Pramac Ducati) with two laps remaining.

Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha) was an uncompetitive seventh from Alvaro Bautista (Nieto Ducati), Franco Morbidelli (Marc VDS Honda), and wildcard Mika Kallio (Red Bull KTM).

Crutchlow (LCR Honda) succumbed to the greasy Jerez surface while running fourth on Lap 8 and continued little further, while Suzuki Ecstar’s Alex Rins crashed out for the third time in just four races this year.

Round 5 is the French MotoGP at Le Mans on May 18-20.

Race results: Spanish MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time/Gap
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 41:39.678
2 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +5.241
3 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +8.214
4 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati +8.617
5 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +8.743
6 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati +9.768
7 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +13.543
8 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati +14.076
9 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda +16.822
10 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +19.405
11 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +21.149
12 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +21.174
13 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +21.765
14 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +22.103
15 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +36.755
16 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +41.861
17 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +49.241
18 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1 Lap
DNF 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 8 Laps
DNF 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 8 Laps
DNF 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 8 Laps
DNF 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 14 Laps
DNF 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 20 Laps
DNF 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia

Championship points

Pos Rider Nat Pts
2 Johann ZARCO FRA 58
3 Maverick VIÑALES ESP 50
4 Andrea IANNONE ITA 47
6 Valentino ROSSI ITA 40
8 Jack MILLER AUS 36
9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA 34
10 Tito RABAT ESP 24
11 Dani PEDROSA ESP 18
12 Alex RINS ESP 16
15 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP 12
16 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL 9
17 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN 9
19 Mika KALLIO FIN 6
20 Jorge LORENZO ESP 6
21 Scott REDDING GBR 5
22 Bradley SMITH GBR 3
23 Karel ABRAHAM CZE 1
24 Thomas LUTHI SUI 0
25 Xavier SIMEON BEL 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]