Rullo takes breakthrough Super2 win in Perth

Alex Rullo

Alex Rullo has taken a first race win in the Dunlop Super2 Series at his home track of Barbagallo Raceway.

Rullo withstood early pressure from Paul Dumbrell, who soon ran off the road and dropped a bundle of positions, to take Race 1 of Round 3 as Dean Fiore made it an MW Motorsport one-two.

The former Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport driver headed the field away from pole position as Dumbrell moved across from the outside of Row 2 to file into second position.

Rullo came under pressure from the two-time Super2 series winner before Dumbrell dropped a wheel off exiting Turn 6 and had to defend second position from Fiore at the bottom of the back straight on Lap 8.

He made a bigger mistake the next time around, running the #88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore off the road at Turn 7 and falling to 14th.

That error gave the #62 Nissan Altima a 1.6s advantage over the #23 Nissan Altima at the front of the field, and Rullo gradually pulled away to record a 2.7s victory in a slightly shortened 26-lap race.

Fiore looked like he might drop a spot to Brodie Kostecki but hung on for what was also his best race result in Super2.

Brodie Kostecki (#57 Kostecki Brothers VF Commodore) had handed his position to then-faster team-mate Kurt Kostecki (#55 VF Commodore) on Lap 6, but the latter gave it back seven laps later when he dived down the inside of Fiore at Turn 7 and couldn’t pull up.

They assumed third and fourth respectively when Dumbrell ran off, and held those positions until the end for an all-West Australian top four in Perth.

Mason Barbera was a personal-best fifth in the #99 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore from Thomas Randle (#5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon) and Chris Pither (#44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore), who gradually recovered ground which he lost on Lap 1.

Shae Davies (#67 Garry Rogers Motorsport FGX Falcon) finished eight and Macauley Jones (#14 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) came from 16th on the grid to take ninth, while Jake Kostecki (#56 Kostecki Brothers VF Commodore) rounded out the top 10.

Dumbrell took the chequered flag in 14th, two positions behind fellow former series winner Garry Jacobson (#26 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima) and four ahead of team-mate Will Brown (#38 VF Commodore).

Race 2 of three starts tomorrow at 1030 local time/1230 AEST with Randle the pole-sitter.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 62 Land Surveys / MWM Alex Rullo Nissan Altima 26 26:01.4079
2 23 Sitech-Trimble / MWM Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 26 26:04.0769
3 57 Arcoplate Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 26 26:04.3698
4 55 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 26 26:06.7810
5 99 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 26 26:07.1031
6 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 26 26:08.2987
7 44 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF 26 26:08.6318
8 67 Paul Morris Motorsport Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG/X 26 26:14.4772
9 14 Payce Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 26 26:16.1975
10 56 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 26 26:18.4338
11 16 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG/X 26 26:19.4657
12 26 MEGA Fuels / MWM Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 26 26:20.1054
13 15 Auto One Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 26 26:20.9335
14 88 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 26 26:21.4339
15 8 BGD Architects Zane Goddard Holden Commodore VF 26 26:23.3671
16 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 26 26:24.0143
17 63 Eggleston Motorsport Dominic Storey Holden Commodore VF 26 26:25.7058
18 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 26 26:27.3006
19 54 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 26 26:32.6319
20 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 26 26:34.4715
21 10 Grove Hire Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 26 26:35.5332
22 49 Dynamic Supplies Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 26 26:53.3242
23 98 Matt Stone Racing Jaie Robson Holden Commodore VF 26 27:00.0041

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]