Indianapolis 500 entry list released

The 2017 Indianapolis 500

IndyCar has officially released a 35-car entry list for this year’s Indianapolis 500, though there is doubt over one entry after Pietro Fittipaldi suffered suspected broken legs in World Endurance Championship qualifying at Spa.

With grid capacity set at 33 cars, there is set to be a return to bumping to determine exactly who will start the race for the first time since 2011.

The entry list features two Australians, namely 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power and James Davison, the latter of whom will compete in a one-off entry prepared by AJ Foyt Racing.

Power is part of an expanded four-car Team Penske line-up, with Helio Castroneves back in IndyCar for the Indianapolis road course race next weekend and the 500.

Chip Ganassi Racing remains at two cars for Scott Dixon, the 2008 Indianapolis 500 winner, and Ed Jones.

Dixon is one of six Indianapolis 500 winners in the field, the others being Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Alexander Rossi, and Takuma Sato.

There is a question mark over the #19 Dale Coyne Racing entry after IndyCar rookie Fittipaldi suffered suspected broken legs in a crash during qualifying for this weekend’s WEC season-opener at Spa-Francorchamps (See video below).

The Brazilian lost control of the DragonSpeed LMP1 and took a heavy front-on hit with the wall at Eau Rouge.

“The driver, who was conscious at all times, was attended immediately by the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps Medical Service and FIA Medical Delegate Jacque Tropenat, extracted from the car and taken by helicopter to the hospital with suspected fractures to both legs,” read a statement from the FIA.

“He is accompanied by the DragonSpeed Team Manager and his condition is not life-threatening. As soon as more information is available it will be communicated.”

The IndyCar Grand Prix, on the Indianapolis road course, takes place form May 11-12 before practice for the Indianapolis 500 begins on Tuesday May 15.

Entry list: Indianapolis 500

Num Driver Nat Engine Team
1 Josef Newgarden USA Chevrolet Team Penske
3 Helio Castroneves (W) BRA Chevrolet Team Penske
4 Matheus Leist (R) BRA Chevrolet AJ Foyt Racing
5 James Hinchcliffe CAN Honda Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
6 Robert Wickens (R) CAN Honda Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
7 Jay Howard GBR Honda SPM/AFS Racing
9 Scott Dixon (W) NZL Honda Chip Ganassi Racing
10 Ed Jones GBR Honda Chip Ganassi Racing
12 Will Power AUS Chevrolet Team Penske
13 Danica Patrick USA Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing
14 Tony Kanaan (W) BRA Chevrolet AJ Foyt Racing
15 Graham Rahal USA Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
17 Conor Daly USA Honda Dale Coyne Racing w/ Thom Burns Racing
18 Sebastien Bourdais FRA Honda Dale Coyne Racing w/ Vasser-Sullivan
19 Pietro Fittipaldi (R) BRA Honda Dale Coyne Racing
20 Ed Carpenter USA Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing
21 Spencer Pigot USA Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing
22 Simon Pagenaud FRA Chevrolet Team Penske
23 Charlie Kimball USA Chevrolet Carlin
24 Sage Karam USA Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
25 Stefan Wilson GBR Honda Andretti Autosport
26 Zach Veach USA Honda Andretti Autosport
27 Alexander Rossi (W) USA Honda Andretti Autosport
28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (W) USA Honda Andretti Autosport
29 Carlos Muñoz COL Honda Andretti Autosport
30 Takuma Sato (W) JPN Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
32 Kyle Kaiser (R) USA Chevrolet Juncos Racing
33 James Davison AUS Chevrolet Foyt w/ Byrd/Hollinger/Belardi
59 Max Chilton GBR Chevrolet Carlin
60 Jack Harvey GBR Honda Meyer Shank Racing w/ SPM
63 Pippa Mann GBR Honda Dale Coyne Racing
64 Oriol Servia ESP Honda Scuderia Corsa w/ RLL
66 JR Hildebrand USA Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
88 Gabby Chaves COL Chevrolet Harding Racing
98 Marco Andretti USA Honda Andretti Herta Autosport w/ Curb-Agajanian

Highlights: Qualifying: 6 Hours of Spa (Fittipaldi crash from 1:35)

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]