Dumbrell tops Perth Super2 Practice 1

Paul Dumbrell pic: Eggleston Motorsport Facebook

Paul Dumbrell has set the pace in Practice 1 for Round 3 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Barbagallo Raceway.

The two-time series winner edged MW Motorsport pair Dean Fiore (#23 Nissan Altima) and Garry Jacobson (#26 Nissan Altima) at the top of the timesheets.

Like most, Dumbrell set his fastest time early in the 40-minute session with a 0:58.0345s in the #88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore.

Fiore spent most of the first half of the session in pit lane, but when the West Australian did appear he quickly moved up to second position, 0.0544s off the pace.

Jacobson, Chris Pither (#44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore), and Macauley Jones (#14 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) were each similar margins further back in the top five.

Pither was one of the few to make an impact late in the piece, his personal best coming in the final 10 minutes.

Rounding out the top 10 were Will Brown (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore), Bryce Fullwood (#16 Matt Stone Racing FGX Falcon), Thomas Randle (#5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon), Alex Rullo, and Brodie Kostecki (#57 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore).

Rullo experienced the only significant incident of the session when he locked a front-right and ran off at Turn 7, burying the #62 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima and necessitating a red flag with 15 minutes remaining.

Matt Chahda battled with a flapping splitter on the #18 Matt Chahda Motorsport VF Commodore on his way to 20th, while debutant Jaie Robson (#98 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) propped up the 23-car field.

Another 40-minute practice session follows at 1345 local time/1545 AEST at the Perth SuperSprint.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 88 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 0:58.0345
2 23 Sitech-Trimble / MWM Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 0:58.0889 0:00.0544
3 26 MEGA Fuels / MWM Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 0:58.1435 0:00.1090
4 44 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF 0:58.1911 0:00.1566
5 14 Payce Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 0:58.2527 0:00.2182
6 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 0:58.3539 0:00.3194
7 16 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG/X 0:58.5801 0:00.5456
8 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 0:58.6664 0:00.6319
9 62 Land Surveys / MWM Alex Rullo Nissan Altima 0:58.6901 0:00.6556
10 57 Arcoplate Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:58.7988 0:00.7643
11 56 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:58.9548 0:00.9203
12 54 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 0:58.9553 0:00.9208
13 55 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:59.0249 0:00.9904
14 67 Paul Morris Motorsport Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG/X 0:59.1354 0:01.1009
15 99 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 0:59.2560 0:01.2215
16 15 Auto One Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 0:59.3935 0:01.3590
17 8 BGD Architects Zane Goddard Holden Commodore VF 0:59.5413 0:01.5068
18 63 Eggleston Motorsport Dominic Storey Holden Commodore VF 0:59.5562 0:01.5217
19 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 0:59.5703 0:01.5358
20 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 0:59.8127 0:01.7782
21 49 Dynamic Supplies Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 0:59.8504 0:01.8159
22 10 Grove Hire Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 1:00.1139 0:02.0794
23 98 Matt Stone Racing Jaie Robson Holden Commodore VF 1:01.0291 0:02.9946

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]