Parisian Vergne wins home Formula E race

Jean-Eric Vergne

Jean-Eric Vergne has extended his Formula E championship lead with victory in Paris while Sam Bird finished third with a wheel barely hanging off his car.

Lucas di Grassi was second to the home town winner Vergne while Bird had shunted a slow-moving Andre Lotterer in sight of the finish line.

Vergne qualified his Techeetah on pole and led Bird (DS Virgin) and Lotterer off the grid.

They ran together until all pitted at the end of Lap 24 of 49, resuming in the same positions in their second cars.

Lotterer fired down the inside of Bird on Lap 35, making contact on his way past but managing to stay off the outside wall and take over second position.

Di Grassi (Audi Sport) closed in as a result and passed Bird on the following lap before applying pressure to Lotterer.

The attack caused Lotterer to use up all of his energy before the final lap of the race was out, at which time he slowed dramatically.

Di Grassi went past the stricken Techeetah as did Bird, and while the latter did not do so cleanly he managed to limp across the finish line.

Lotterer was subsequently issued a 10-position grid penalty for the next race of the season after stewards found that the German had moved back onto the race line to initiate the crash.

Maro Engel (Venturi) and Sebastien Buemi (Renault e.dams) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Mitch Evans started last due to a 10-position grid penalty before the weekend started for having to change a gearbox in one of his Panasonic Jaguars.

The New Zealander qualified 14th and therefore had to serve a five-second hold during his car change to make up the balance of the penalty, ultimately finishing 15th.

Race 9 is in Berlin on May 19.

Race highlights

Race results: Race 8, Paris

Pos Num Driver Team Race time/Split
1 25 Jean-Éric Vergne Techeetah 54:49.102 (49 laps)
2 1 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler +4.882
3 2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing +8.897
4 5 Maro Engel Venturi Formula E Team +9.287
5 9 Sébastien Buemi Renault e.dams +10.194
6 18 André Lotterer Techeetah +10.855
7 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler +13.918
8 19 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing +15.271
9 16 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team +19.557
10 6 José María López Dragon Racing +20.989
11 23 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing +21.698
12 7 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing +26.723
13 4 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team +29.937
14 36 Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing +43.112
15 20 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing +43.989
16 8 Nico Prost Renault e.dams +1 Lap
17 68 Ma Qing Hua NIO Formula E Team +3 Laps
DNF 3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing
DNF 27 Tom Blomqvist MS&AD Andretti Formula E
DNF 28 António Félix da Costa MS&AD Andretti Formula E

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jean-Éric Vergne 147
2 Sam Bird 116
3 Felix Rosenqvist 86
4 Sébastien Buemi 70
5 Lucas di Grassi 58
6 Daniel Abt 56
7 Nelson Piquet Jr. 45
8 Mitch Evans 43
9 André Lotterer 41
10 Oliver Turvey 34
11 Edoardo Mortara 29
12 Maro Engel 23
13 Nick Heidfeld 21
14 Alex Lynn 17
15 António Félix da Costa 16
16 José María López 14
17 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 12
18 Nico Prost 7
19 Tom Blomqvist 4
20 Luca Filippi 1
21 Kamui Kobayashi 0
22 Ma Qing Hua 0
23 Neel Jani 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]