Huge field for APC Round 1 at Sandown

The Sherrins will attempt to defend their APC title pic: Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour

The Australian Production Cars grid sits at an over-subscribed 48 cars for Round 1 of its 2018 season at Sandown.

CAMS has given special dispensation to the series to exceed 46 cars for the round, which takes place on the Shannons Nationals program in mid-May.

The field includes NSW Production Cars competitors for Saturday’s two hour-long races, with the state entries having the option to back up for the two Sunday races as well.

“How exciting is it that we are heading into our first round of the 2018 season and we are literally sold out, with our entry list filled even before early bird entries closed last week?” said APC category manager Iain Sherrin.

“We have had a reserve list in place as well, which came in handy when damage from the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour unfortunately saw a couple of our entrants withdraw.

“Now, we head to the iconic Sandown Raceway with an over-subscribed field of 48 racers and we are thankful to CAMS who are allowing us special permission to run the two extra cars on our grid.

“It has been a few years since production car racing was hosted at this important Victorian venue, and I can’t wait to see what our racers have in store this May.”

Grant and Iain Sherrin will attempt to defend their title in their BMW M4, while there is Supercars representation in the form of former enduro driver Grant Denyer and current DJRTP co-driver Tony D’Alberto in a Lotus Exige.

John Bowe has been named alongside NSWPTC regular Tony Virag in an A1 class HSV GTS.

Also in action at the meeting, which takes place on May 11-13, will be the Australian GT Championship, Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia, Australian Prototype Series, and Radical Australia Cup.

Entry list: Round 1, Sandown International Motor Raceway

Num Class Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Cap
1 A1 Sherrin Rentals Grant Sherrin
Iain Sherrin
BMW M4 2979
4 A1 Property Investment Store Anthony Soole
Arthur Magaitis
BMW 1M 3000
5 A1 MARC Cars Brad Woods
BMW 1M 2979
6 A1 Aqualuma Racing Rod Salmon
Leigh Burges
Mercedes A45 2000
7 A1 MoComm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina
Ryan Simpson
Lotus Exige 350 Sport 3500
10 A1 Simply Sports Cars Grant Denyer
Tony D’Alberto
Lotus Exige 350 Sport 3500
11 A1 Simply Sports Cars TBC
Lotus Exige 350 Sport 3500
20 A1 Stokes Skis Australia Jason Miller Mitsubishi EVO 9 2000
23 A1 Bruce Lynton Jaguar / Landrover Beric Lynton BMW M3 2979
33 A1 PRO-DUCT Motorsport Bob Pearson Porsche Cayman 2497
34 A1 Browns Automotive Mark McHenry
Jason Cutts
Mitsubishi EVO 9 2000
38 A1 Fierce Racing Thomas Muller
Shane Smollen
BMW 1M 2979
41 A1 Royalty Wraps & Graphics Tony Virag
John Bowe
Holden HSV VF GTS 6200
66 A1 FullGas Racing / Nova Employment Dimitri Agathos
Lachlan Gibbons
Subaru WRX STi 2457
83 A1 PRO-DUCT Motorsport Rick Bates Mitsubishi EVO X 2000
2 A2 Angry Cactus Racing / Massel Mark Caine Holden HSV Clubsport R8 6200
16 A2 HiTec Oils / Smith & Sons Steve Hodges
Robert Coulthard
Holden CSV Mondo GT 5700
53 A2 Project Dry Hire / Coast Wide Civil Trevor Symonds
Scott Bargwanna
Holden Commodore VY GTS 5700
64 A2 Jack Motorsport Chris Lillis
Nathan Callaghan
Holden HSV VE GTS 6200
65 A2 Cavanagh Electrics Matt Holt
Brett Howard
Holden HSV Clubsport R8 6200
90 A2 Boss Surveillance Justin Anthony
Karl Begg
Mercedes C63 6208
96 A2 Evolve Technik Brent Howard
Christian Fitzgerald
BMW M3 E92 3998
223 A2 Katilyn Hawkins Motorsport Katilyn Hawkins
Richard Baskis
Holden 5700
917 A2 Clarke Motorsport Gavin Clarke
Stuart Clarke
BMW M3 4000
21 B1 Aussie Wide Builders Geoff Russell
Ford Falcon 5000
50 B1 Trevor Keene James Keene
Dominic Martens
Volkswagen Golf R Gti 2000
111 B1 FEDC Contracting Michael Benton
Hadrian Morrall
Ford Falcon GT 4995
8 B2 G and K Refrigeration Geoff Kite Holden Commodore SSV Redline 6000
28 B2 Potts Motorsports Dean Potts
Barry Sternbeck
Holden HSV R8 Clubsport s2 5700
30 B2 Andreas Veryinis
Alex Veryinis
Holden VX SS 5700
43 B2 Mewada Motorsport Adam Gosling BMW E46 3200
52 B2 S BAC / Moore Stephens Joe Krinelos Holden SSV CL 6000
13 C Osborne Motorsport Colin Osborne
Geoff Full
Renault Megane RS265 Trophy R 1998
17 C Aubin Brothers Racing Kyle Aubin
Blake Aubin
Renault Megane RS265 Trophy R 1998
31 C Osborne Motorsport Calum Jones Renault Megane RS265 Trophy R 1998
73 C TLA Racing Trevor Mirabito
Adam Talbert
BMW 130i 2997
51 D Trevor Keene Richard Luff
Matt Thewlis
Mini JCW 1600
81 D JJM Motorsports / Volksmuller Joshua Muggleton
Jarrod Muggleton
Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984
84 D Disc Brakes Australia Ellexandra Best
Gerry Burges
KIA Proceed GT 1600
91 D Track School / New Image Kitchens Daniel Smith Honda Integra Type R 1996
95 D Shylan Motorsports / K&N Filters Matt Shylan Honda Integra Type R 1998
212 D Tempest Solutions / John Lafolla Racing Zach Loscialpo
John Lafolla
Toyota 86 2000
333 D McLaurin Motorsport / ICEC Group Harrison Gray Toyota 86 2000
777 D Red Hot Couriers Racing Aaron Cameron
Declan Fraser
Toyota 86 2000
938 D Prolicam Autosport Oliver Shannon Toyota 86 2000
12 E Griffith Corporation Amy Griffith
Mark Griffith
Toyota Echo 1600
24 E MG Motorsport James Brock
Elliot Barbour
MG MG6 1800
921 E Mazda / Beers R Us Andrew McMaster
David Noble
Mazda SP 2.5 2488

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]