Marquez loses pole position for blocking Viñales

Viñales reacts to being impeded by Marquez pic: MotoGP Twitter

Marc Marquez will start the Grand Prix of The Americas from fourth position despite setting the fastest lap after being penalised for blocking Maverick Viñales.

Marquez had a dramatic qualifying session on his Repsol Honda, crashing midway through and having to ride a scooter back to pit lane to get to his second bike.

When the Spaniard began his second run, he appeared to get in Viñales’ way during his out lap as the Movistar Yamaha rider attempted a flyer.

Viñales usurped Marquez at the top of the order next time around, only for #93 to go reclaim the position with a lap 0.4s faster again.

The pole would have been Marquez’s sixth from as many MotoGP rounds held so far at Circuit of the Americas, but an investigation was announced as qualifying came to a close.

The three position grid penalty for the baulk means that Viñales will share the front row with Suzuki Ecstar’s Andrea Iannone and Tech3 Yamaha’s Johann Zarco.

Alongside Marquez will be Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) and Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team).

Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda), Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda), and Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati) round out the top 10.

Pol Espargaro was the first of the Red Bull KTMs in 12th position after coming through Qualifying 1.

Jack Miller could only manage the eighth-fastest time in Q1, meaning he will start from 18th on his Pramac Ducati.

Race start is Monday morning at 0500 AEST.

Update: Pol Espargaro also penalised three grid positions for baulking another rider

Qualifying: Grand Prix of The Americas

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time  
1 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 2:04.064
2 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 2:04.209
3 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2:04.210
4 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 2:03.658 Penalty
5 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 2:04.229
6 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 2:04.294
7 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 2:04.456
8 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 2:04.865
9 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 2:04.963
10 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 2:05.058
11 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 2:05.260
12 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 2:05.457 Q1
13 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 2:05.686 Q1
14 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2:05.761 Q1
15 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2:05.829 Penalty
16 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2:05.873 Q1
17 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2:05.943 Q1
18 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 2:05.966 Q1
19 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 2:06.035 Q1
20 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2:06.222 Q1
21 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 2:06.296 Q1
22 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 2:06.370 Q1
23 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 2:06.537 Q1
24 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 2:06.726 Q1

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]