Wood seals Carrera Cup opener at Phillip Island

Dale Wood

Dale Wood has sealed victory in the opening Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia Endurance Cup race of the weekend at the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

Wood led all 25 laps, holding off Dylan O’Keeffe for much of the race to win by 0.8s.

A pass on O’Keeffe on the final lap secured Alex Davison second from Jaxon Evans in fourth, while David Wall rounded out the top five.

Jordan Love moved into sixth after team mate Michael Almond made a mistake at Honda and ran wide, with the latter ending up seventh.

Nick McBride was the next best in eighth, crossing the line ahead of Peter Major in ninth.

Max Twigg was tenth, and the leading Pro-Am class finisher.

The early part of the race saw a charge from Davison, who quickly moved into fourth on Lap 10 after picking off Wall at MG.

O’Keeffe’s only challenge on Wood came about on Lap 14 as he tried a move around the outside of Turn 1 before another attempt on the exit of Siberia corner; but his efforts proved fruitless before dropping back to third on the final lap.

Davison emulated his previous move on Evans for third on Lap 17, before latching onto the back of leaders and diving up the inside of O’Keeffe, again at MG.

James Moffat encountered a wild moment when he spun off the road and onto the grass on the run down to Honda, eventually recovering to 13th.

Cameron Hill suffered front splitter damage on his car after a trip through the gravel at Lukey Heights in the opening laps forced him into the pits, the Canberra driver finished last following a stopping for repairs.

Carrera Cup will return to the circuit for its second race of the weekend on Sunday at 1220 AEST.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Laps Race time
1 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) P 25 39:04.2148
2 888 Porsche Centre Brighton Alex Davison (QLD) P 25 39:05.0203
3 88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) P 25 39:05.5548
4 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans (QLD) P 25 39:08.8127
5 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall (NSW) P 25 39:09.7469
6 777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love (WA) P 25 39:10.4390
7 77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond (TBC) P 25 39:15.1045
8 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) P 25 39:17.4364
9 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major (WA) P 25 39:32.0380
10 80 WM Waste Management Max Twigg (VIC) A 25 39:34.7581
11 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) A 25 39:34.9030
12 15 LORY Construction Josh Hunt (QLD) P 25 39:35.6907
13 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat (TBC) P 25 39:39.6395
14 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) A 25 39:40.5373
15 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) A 25 39:45.3959
16 13 The Bend/htfu Sam Shahin (SA) A 25 40:00.5914
17 6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage Tim Miles (NSW) A 25 40:00.9706
18 20 Agas National Adrian Flack (NSW) A 25 40:24.5072
19 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) A 24 39:25.7254
20 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee (NSW) A 24 39:26.3927
21 808 Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne John Steffensen (VIC) A 24 39:28.9983
22 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook (VIC) A 24 39:29.2293
23 131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams (VIC) A 24 39:43.9897
24 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood (TAS) P 24 39:45.5501
25 111 Southern Star Truck Centre/Any Cameron Hill (ACT) P 23 39:39.7711

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]