Wood nets Carrera Cup Phillip Island pole

Dale Wood

Dale Wood has netted pole position for the first race of the weekend in Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia at the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

A late flyer from Wood saw him jump to the top of the Qualifying times with a 1:30.6460s, beating Dylan O’Keeffe’s early benchmark by 0.28s.

O’Keeffe retained second after setting the pace for much of the session, while Jaxon Evans will start from third.

Reigning champion David Wall and James Moffat rounded out the top five, despite a spin for the latter in the closing stages of the 20-minute hit-out at MG.

Alex Davison headed Nick McBride in sixth and seventh respectively, while Jordan Love made a late improvement to finish eighth fastest after dropping off the road and damaging his splitter at the Southern Loop during the first half of the session.

The top 10 was completed by Cameron Hill and Michael Almond, with Anthony Gilbertson the quickest in the Pro-Am class after pipping Roger Lago on his his final lap.

After a heavy crash at Lukey Heights on Friday, Dean Cook returned to the circuit for Qualifying to finish up 22nd following an overnight repair job.

Carrera Cup Australia returns to the circuit for the first of its two 25-lap races this weekend, which form the start of its Endurance Cup, at 1415 local time.

Results: Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia, WD-40 Phillip Island 500, Qualifying

Pos Car Competitor/Team Driver Class Time
1 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) Pro 1:30.646
2 88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) Pro 1:30.926
3 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans (QLD) Pro 1:30.962
4 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall (NSW) Pro 1:31.031
5 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat (TBC) Pro 1:31.040
6 888 Porsche Centre Brighton Alex Davison (QLD) Pro 1:31.103
7 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) Pro 1:31.263
8 777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love (WA) Pro 1:31.290
9 111 Southern Star Truck Centre/Any Cameron Hill (ACT) Pro 1:31.605
10 77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond (TBC) Pro 1:31.724
11 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major (WA) Pro 1:31.809
12 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) Am 1:31.970
13 15 LORY Construction Josh Hunt (QLD) Pro 1:32.004
14 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) Am 1:32.240
15 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) Am 1:32.359
16 6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage Tim Miles (NSW) Am 1:32.658
17 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood (TAS) Pro 1:32.896
18 20 Agas National Adrian Flack (NSW) Am 1:32.950
19 80 WM Waste Management Max Twigg (VIC) Am 1:32.953
20 808 Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne John Steffensen (VIC) Am 1:33.125
21 13 The Bend/htfu Sam Shahin (SA) Am 1:33.344
22 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook (VIC) Am 1:34.560
23 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee (NSW) Am 1:35.166
24 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) Am 1:35.183
25 131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams (VIC) Am 1:36.622

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]