Dutton explains Whincup post-race penalty

Jamie Whincup pic: Matt O’Brien

Mark Dutton has explained how mistakenly identifying a cone in pit lane led to Jamie Whincup being penalised out of second position in Race 9 of the Supercars Championship.

Whincup was issued the time equivalent of a drive-through penalty, 38 seconds, which has seen the #1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Commodore fall from second position to 14th.

The breach was for deactivating the pit lane speed limiter while Whincup was still transiting pit lane following his first pit stop.

Supercars regulations stipulate that “The Limiter must be activated at all times while a Car is moving in Pit Lane,” but there is no official suggestion of a breach of the speed limit.

Dutton has told Speedcafe.com that Whincup mistook the cone which marks where cars must move into the fast lane with that which denotes the end of the speed limited section of pit lane.

“The regs say that the whole time you’re in the pit lane and moving that the pit limiter needs to be on,” he explained.

“What’s happened, Jamie’s pulled out of the pit stop, he’s got the limiter on, he’s accelerated up to 40 (km/h), he’s passed the merge cone, so he’s already got in front of Scotty McLaughlin, and then as he’s passing the merge cone he’s mistakenly thought that was the cone, the derestriction sign, so he’s turned the pit limiter off.

“He’s then realised that isn’t the right cone so he’s turned the pit limiter back on, and then passed the proper cone and then turned it back off again.

“There’s no gain because he was already in front of Scotty McLaughlin but that’s not the rule.

“The rule isn’t if there’s a gain, the rule is if you break the rule you break the rule. If you do it on your own it’s the same penalty.”

Dutton said that Whincup freely admitted the error when it was raised with him after stewards discussed the matter with the Triple Eight Race Engineering team manager.

“I didn’t know it had happened (at the time) but I automatically thought, ‘Hang on, he’s mistaken the cones.’

“Then I went and asked Jamie what happened and without any prompting he said, ‘Mate, it was all going on, I saw the cone, just as I passed the cone I’ve seen it and turned it off and realised, turned it back on but the damage was done.’”

The result means that Whincup, who led the championship heading to Phillip Island and trailed race winner Scott McLaughlin by a point before the penalty was applied, drops to fourth on the ladder and 76 points off the pace.

Simona de Silvestro was hit with a 15-second penalty for careless driving when the Nissan Motorsport driver punted Jack Le Brocq at MG on Lap 4.

The sanction cost de Silvestro one position, putting Car #78 back to 24th.

The WD-40 Phillip Island 500 concludes tomorrow.

Stewards summary (Excerpt)

Following a report from Supercars Pit Lane Officials, it was alleged that Car #1 deactivated the Pit Lane Speed Limiter prior to the end of Pit Lane following a pit stop. A report from the S&TD included a detailed review of the Supercars Telemetry Data and Control ECU Data for Car #1 which confirmed that Car #1 did not have its Pit Lane Speed Limiter activated at all times whilst it was moving in Pit Lane in breach of Rule C15.4.2. Additionally, compliance with Rule C15.4.2 was checked for all Cars in Race 9. No other breaches of Rule C15.4.2 were established. The Competitor, Triple Eight Race Engineering, admitted the breach and the Stewards imposed a post-Race Pit Lane Penalty (38 seconds) to be added to Car #1’s Race Time for Race 9.

Results: Race 9, WD-40 Phillip Island 500 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:30:50.5677
2 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 57 1:30:52.9714
3 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:30:59.6513
4 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:02.8506
5 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:31:04.1244
6 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:08.9006
7 99 Erebus Thermosphere Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:09.4218
8 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:31:22.1069
9 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:22.9112
10 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:23.0597
11 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:24.1696
12 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:31:24.5134
13 200 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:31:25.0212
14 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:29.4637
15 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 57 1:31:30.3673
16 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:31:35.4964
17 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:35.9702
18 23 Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 57 1:31:36.4226
19 56 MEGA Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:31:43.9189
20 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:31:45.4619
21 21 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:32:03.1678
22 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 57 1:32:04.0391
23 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 57 1:32:19.4337
24 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 57 1:32:29.7485
25 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 50 1:32:07.5940
26 8 Coregas Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 45 1:32:11.4669

Drivers’ championship Updated

Pos Driver Pts
1 Scott McLaughlin 797
2 David Reynolds 749
3 Shane van Gisbergen 747
4 Jamie Whincup 721
5 Craig Lowndes 717
6 James Courtney 678
7 Scott Pye 673
8 Chaz Mostert 605
9 Tim Slade 557
10 Garth Tander 543
11 Fabian Coulthard 542
12 Nick Percat 532
13 Mark Winterbottom 527
14 Cameron Waters 481
15 Will Davison 466
16 Rick Kelly 463
17 Michael Caruso 430
18 Anton De Pasquale 410
19 Jack Le Brocq 401
20 Andre Heimgartner 350
21 Lee Holdsworth 345
22 Tim Blanchard 281
23 Todd Hazelwood 280
24 Simona de Silvestro 246
25 James Golding 233
26 Richie Stanaway 182

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]