Bumper field for Toyota 86 opener at the Island

The new Toyota 86 Racing Series season starts this weekend

A 39-car field is set to take to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit for Round 1 of the Toyota 86 Racing Series.

Leanne Tander and Chris Pither will serve as the invited drivers for the opening round, while 2016 V8 Utes series winner and T86RS runner-up David Sieders returns to the driver’s seat at Sieders Racing Team.

Also back in the field is former 86 racer and 2009 Aussie Racing Cars series winner Adam Gowans, himself a Toyota dealer in Tasmania.

Dylan Thomas, who finished third in the series last year, returns for a second season with his CGR Performance team.

T86RS supports the WD-40 Phillip Island 500, starting with two practice sessions tomorrow.

Entry list: Round 1, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver State
2 Valvoline Gowans Racing Adam Gowans TAS
3 Sieders Racing Team David Sieders NSW
5 Gibson Racing John Gibson NSW
6 PK Transport / Aussie Driver Search Jake Klein VIC
7 Clintons Toyota / Plus Fitness Racing Cameron Crick NSW
8 John Iafolla Racing John Iafolla NSW
9 AISIN Products Luke King NSW
11 Zane Morse Motorsport Zane Morse NSW
15 That English Bloke James Wilkins QLD
16 Benjamin Grice Benjamin Grice QLD
18 Hashtag Race Academy Tomas Gasperak QLD
19 George Gutierrez Motorsport George Gutierrez SA
20 SLO-Mango Racing Timothy Beddoe VIC
21 Tempest Solutions / Pastro Custom AG / Excellerate Motorsport Zach Loscialpo NSW
23 Samoilenko Racing Simon Samoilenko QLD
24 M1 Racing Michael Fabri QLD
27 Hi-Tec Oils / CXC / CGR Performance Dylan Thomas NSW
28 Hi-Tec Oils / Muller Motorsport Thomas Muller NSW
29 Melbourne City Toyota Jaylyn Robotham VIC
30 TEAM RSG Hayden Jackson NSW
33 Aussie Driver Search Jake Burton WA
34 McLaren Real Estate Macarthur Tim Brook NSW
35 MDR Motorsport / Bow Wow Dog Treats Haydn Clark SA
36 Toyota Racing Australia Chris Pither NZ
37 Toyota Racing Australia Leanne Tander VIC
38 Sieders Racing Team / Longreach Tourist Park Luke van Herwaarde QLD
48 Auto Approve / Wilson Security Nic Carroll VIC
55 Reynolds Auctions Gavin Reynolds NSW
56 Luff Motors Yass Toyota Kane Baxter-Smith VIC
60 Cam Walton Racing Cam Walton NSW
74 Pulse Racing / Zen Garage / Cars For Hope Trent Grubel NSW
77 Hi-Tec Oils / CXC / CGR Performance Jaden Ransley NZ
90 Whitty Race Engineering Jarrod Whitty NSW
92 Autoware Mitchell Maddren QLD
93 Broc Feeney Racing Broc Feeney QLD
96 WBT Racing Jaiden Maggs NSW
97 Liam McAdam Motorsport Liam McAdam QLD
99 Hazard Solutions Graham Smith VIC
777 Declan Fraser Racing Declan Fraser QLD

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]