Whites fastest again on Targa Day 3

Jason White/John White pic: Angryman Photography

Jason and John White added another three seconds to their overall lead as the 2018 Targa Tasmania reached its halfway mark.

The Whites and their Dodge Viper now lead by 19 seconds having won 13 of the 15 special stages held so far.

Matthew Close and Cameron Reeves gained ground when they won Special Stage 12, before White went eight seconds quicker through the rest of the day.

As he had after each of the first two days, Jason White expressed concern about tyre wear.

“We did a good pace through the Sideling and we weren’t sparing our tyres through, but after that I felt we needed to back off a little, but as soon as we did that Matt Close started taking five-second chunks out of us,” he said.

“We’ll do some wheel alignment tweaks tonight and try and even out the tyre wear a bit.”

Steve Glenney and Andy Sarandis lost ground to Close/Reeves but remain third, ahead of Angus Kennard and Ian Wheeler.

Last year’s Classic GT class winners Jon and Gina Siddins and their 1970 Datson 240Z rolled on TS12, handing a commanding class lead to Michael and Daniel Bray in a 1975 Holden Torana.

The field makes it way to the west coast when the rally continues tomorrow.

Overall classification: After Day 3

Pos Driver/Co-driver Car Split
1 Jason White/John White 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme
2 Matt Close/Cameron Reeves 2017 Porsche GT3 RS +0:00:19
3 Steve Glenney/ Andy Sarandis 2015 Subaru WRX STI +0:00:37
4 Michael Pritchard/Gary Mourant Porsche 911 GT3 RS +0:02:13
5 Paul Stokell/Erin Kelly 2014 Lotus Exige S +0:02:20
6 Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler 2015 Nissan GT-R R35 +0:02:29
7 Mark Balcombe/Brian Foster 2011 Nissan GTR R35 +0:03:37
8 Alan Roe/Michael Lloyd BMW M2 +0:04:03
9 Joshua Sutcliffe/Jon Mitchell 2006 Subaru S204 +0:04:14
10 Peter Nunn/Keith Johnstone 2016 Porsche GTS +0:04:17

Class leaders

Class Driver/Co-driver Car
Wrest Point GT2 Jason White/John White 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme
RDA Brakes GT4 Steve Glenney/Andy Sarandis 2015 Subaru WRX STI
Shannons Classic GT Michael Bray/Daniel Bray 1975 Holden Torana
Shannons Classic Graham Copeland/Josh Herbert 1941 GMC Jimmy Special
Duttons Garage Early Modern Joshua Sutcliffe/Jon Mitchell 2006 Subaru S204
Country Club GT Sports Trophy Martin Duursma/Richard Wodhams 2013 Lotus Exige S V6
Spirit of Tasmania Thoroughbred Trophy Jack Waldron/Vin Gregory 1981 Mitsubishi Sigma
TSD Trophy Brian Marshall/Justine Marshall 2011 VW Polo GTi 29 points
Rookie Classic GT Justin Gan/David Hart 1978 Porsche 911
Rookie Early Modern Adam Gosling/Ian Noble 2002 BMW E46 M3
Rookie GT Jeff Morton/Steve Fisher 2017 Lotus Exige

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]