Kumho V8s to open season with 22-car field

The Kumho V8 field at Phillip Island last year

A 22-car field is set to take to Phillip Island for Round 1 of the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Cars series this weekend.

Last year’s series winner Jack Smith continues to race in both the Dunlop Super2 Series and the unofficial third tier of Supercars, though he has not yet confirmed if he will enter all rounds of V8 Touring Cars in 2018.

Brad Jones Racing fields Smith in both Super2 and V8 Touring Cars, with Image Racing, Matt Stone Racing, and now MW Motorsport again spread across the two series.

MWM’s two FG Falcons will both be driven by ex-Formula 4 drivers, namely Tyler Everingham and Zak Best, the former of whom was a race winner in the open-wheeler category at Phillip Island last year.

Image will run ex-Stone Brothers Racing FG Falcons for Mathew Radisich, nephew of Paul, in an ex-Tim Slade car and 18-year-old Jacob Bell in an ex-Shane van Gisbergen car.

Bradley Neill will step up from a Heritage class VS Commodore to an MSR FG Falcon in Kumho Cup, where he will be a stablemate to Chris Smerdon.

Familiar faces to the series include Michael Anderson, Geoff Emery, Jon McCorkindale, and Jim Pollicina, while three-time V8 Utes series winner Ryal Harris will make his V8 Touring Cars debut.

Action starts with two practice sessions on Friday at the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

Entry list: Round 1, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Class
2 Page Bros, Jayco Steven Page Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
3 Kustom Workz/Supercar Parts & Sales Shane Hunt Ford Falcon BF Kumho Cup
4 Rightway Industrial Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF Kumho Cup
7 Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina Commodore VE Kumho Cup
8 Micro Auto Filters/Direct Auto Spares Mathew Radisich Ford Falcon FG Championship
9 Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
11 Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG Championship
15 Elevated Solutions/Jacob Bell Motorsport Jacob Bell Ford Falcon FG Championship
21 Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistics Jack Smith Commodore VE II Championship
27 MW Motorsport Tyler Everingham Ford Falcon FG Championship
39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
41 Dial Before You Dig Racing Mark Primmer Ford Falcon BF Kumho Cup
56 Coe Property Group Stephen Coe Commodore VE Kumho Cup
69 Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon BF Championship
75 B Strong Electrical Brendan Strong Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
76 Brownes Chill Garry Hills Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
77 Protrack Automotive Performance Gary Collins Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
78 MW Motorsport Zak Best Ford Falcon FG Championship
88 WakeUp! Side Bar Warren Millett Commodore VZ Kumho Cup
96 Aussie Driver Search/EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Ford Falcon FG Championship
111 Custom Garage Andy Cantrell Ford Falcon EL Heritage
888 Emery Motorsport/Solair World Geoff Emery Commodore VE Championship

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]