Whites extend lead on Targa Day 2

Jason White/John White pic: Angryman Photography

Jason and John White have stretched their lead to 16 seconds on Day 2 of the 2018 Targa Tasmania.

The six-time and defending rally winners came into the second day with a five-second advantage and Jason White was particularly quick through TS8 at Paloona, where his 2016 Dodge Viper was 10 seconds quicker than the rest.

“We had an exciting stage at Paloona,” he said.

“I hit the brakes on the first corner and had a drink bottle submarine down in between the brake pedals.

“It was a distraction for the first few kays. It made me crabby, but the crabbiness fed through the steering wheel and into the wheels and it ended up being a very good time.

“We’ll have to start conserving tyres soon, the only trouble is that it’s too much fun.”

Matt Close and Cameron Reeves (2017 Porsche GT3 RS) prevailed in a day-long battle for second over Steve Glenney and Andy Sarandis (2015 Subaru WRX STI).

The difference between the two entries, however, is just four seconds after six more stages.

Day 3 takes the field to St Helens on the east coast for another six competitive stages before a return to the Launceston base.

Highlights: Day 2

Overall classification: After Day 2

Pos Driver/Co-driver Car Split
1 Jason White/John White 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme
2 Matt Close/Cameron Reeves 2017 Porsche GT3 RS +0:00:16
3 Steve Glenney/Andy Sarandis 2015 Subaru WRX STI +0:00:20
4 Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler 2015 Nissan GT-R R35 +0:01:14
5 Michael Pritchard/Gary Mourant Porsche 911 GT3 RS +0:01:19
6 Paul Stokell/Erin Kelly 2014 Lotus Exige S +0:01:25
7 Joshua Sutcliffe/Jon Mitchell 2006 Subaru S204 +0:01:47
8 Peter Nunn/Keith Johnstone 2016 Porsche GTS +0:02:11
9 John Ireland/Janet Binns 2017 Dodge Viper +0:02:16
10 Mark Balcombe/Brian Foster 2011 Nissan GTR R35 +0:02:17

Class leaders

Class Driver/Co-driver Car
Wrest Point GT2 Jason White/John White 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme
RDA Brakes GT4 Steve Glenney/Andy Sarandis 2015 Subaru WRX STI
Shannons Classic GT Michael Bray/Daniel Bray 1975 Holden Torana
Shannons Classic Graham Copeland/Josh Herbert 1941 GMC Jimmy Special
Duttons Garage Early Modern Joshua Sutcliffe/Jon Mitchell 2006 Subaru S204
Country Club GT Sports Trophy Martin Duursma/Richard Wodhams 2013 Lotus Exige S V6
Spirit of Tasmania Thoroughbred Trophy Jim Kelly/Evan Kelly 1984 Audi Quattro Coupe
TSD Trophy Brian Marshall/Justin Marshall 2011 VW Polo GTi
Rookie Classic GT Justin Gan/David Hart 1978 Porsche 911
Rookie Early Modern John Swan/Barry Swan 1991 Porsche 944 S2
Rookie GT Jeff Morton/Steve Fisher 2017 Lotus Exige

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]