Full grid for Carrera Cup’s Phillip Island enduros

Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup

A full complement of cars is expected this weekend as the Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia series heads to Phillip Island for two endurance races.

The third round of the Carrera Cup season will feature two 25-lap races, the longest solo driver events in the category’s history.

The opening Carrera Cup race at Bathurst last year stands as the longest Carrera Cup test for a single driver at 93km, with this weekend’s races set to top 111km each.

In recent years Phillip Island has hosted a Pro-Am format, with the last single driver event held at the circuit in 2012 – which was won by Craig Baird.

Following a heavy shunt at the Grand Prix, Cameron Hill is set to return to the field after carrying out extensive repairs on his car.

The car has received a complete reshell, and is on target to be ready with just a day to spare before competition begins at the Island.

“After all our efforts to compete in Carrera Cup this season, we were determined to make sure the Grand Prix crash was not going to ruin our year,” said Hill.

“While the re-shell has been done by an outside organisation, we’ve continued working tirelessly to ensure all the ingredients are in place for me to complete the season.

This weekend marks the start of the six-race Endurance Cup, a concept that began last season ultimately won by Alex Davison (Pro class) and Marc Cini (TAG Heuer Pro-Am).

It could also mark a fourth consecutive round win for Jaxon Evans, a feat last achieved by Baird in 2008.

“It will be an interesting event. Having had a test day at Phillip Island before the round, hopefully that brings us level with the local teams,” said Evans.

“I love the circuit, it’s similar to Albert Park, and the level of competition will step up again so hopefully we can step up with it.”

The McElrea Racing driver sits 69 points ahead of his closest Pro-ranked rival Dale Wood, with reigning champion David Wall in third.

Entry list: Round 3, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Driver Class Team/Sponsor
1 David Wall Pro PAYCE/Wilson Security
4 Stephen Grove TAG Heuer Pro-Am Grove Group
5 Greg Taylor TAG Heuer Pro-Am Arris/Strongbuild
6 Tim Miles TAG Heuer Pro-Am Miles Advisory Partners/Garage 1
7 Jaxon Evans Pro Morris Finance
8 Nick McBride Pro Porsche Centre Melbourne
9 Marc Cini TAG Heuer Pro-Am Hallmarc
12 Adam Garwood Pro Garwood Motorsport
13 Sam Shahin TAG Heuer Pro-Am The Bend/htfu
14 Peter Major Pro Sonic/Totally 4×4
15 Josh Hunt Pro LORY Construction
18 James Moffat Pro PAYCE/Wilson Security/JBL
19 Anthony Gilbertson TAG Heuer Pro-Am Hallmark Homes
20 Adrian Flack TAG Heuer Pro-Am Agas National
22 Dean Cook TAG Heuer Pro-Am BMF/Pitman Racing
23 Roger Lago TAG Heuer Pro-Am JBS Australia
35 Indiran Padayachee TAG Heuer Pro-Am Hyundai Forklifts Australia
77 Michael Almond Pro Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts/PSA
80 Max Twigg TAG Heuer Pro-Am WM Waste Management
88 Dylan O’Keeffe Pro APB Group
100 Dale Wood Pro Sonic/Polyflor
111 Cameron Hill Pro Southern Star Truck Centre/Anytime Fitness
131 Graham Williams TAG Heuer Pro-Am Harcourts Williams
777 Jordan Love Pro Bob Jane T Marts
808 John Steffensen TAG Heuer Pro-Am Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne
888 Alex Davison Pro Porsche Centre Brighton

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]