NATIONALS: Vidau claims GT3 Cup Challenge round

Max Vidau

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

Two wins for Max Vidau saw the Sonic driver win the opening round of the Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Vidau headed Cooper Murrary in both races, with Simon Fallon rounding out the podium in Race 2, and Jimmy Vernon taking third in Race 3.

The third race saw the duo dice for the lead, 16-year-old Vidau claiming the outright and Pro class victory for the first round of the 2018 season.

Jimmy Vernon claimed his best result of the weekend in third place from Simon Fallon, who placed third for the round.

Luis Leeds had a horror final race, taking to the lane with technical problems, though still managed to snare fourth place in the Pro class for the round from Vernon, Chelsea Angelo and Dan Day.

Australian Prototype Series

Australian Prototype Series

Peter Paddon won the opening round of the Australian Prototype series presented by Hot Wheels, after late dramas ended Darren Barlow’s chances.

Barlow won Race 2 and was leading the final race of the weekend before his engine spectacularly blew just after half-distance.

Paddon’s Race 3 victory elevated him to the round victory in his Radical SR3, as well as the Radical Cup class.

John-Paul Drake finished second overall in his Jam Motorsport Wolf GB08, his best result in the Australian Prototype Series.

Drake finished third in Race 2 and battled with the leaders in Race 3 in the Wolf CN cars in category debut.

Tony Ricciardello

National Sports Sedans

Tony Ricciardello won the opening round of the National Sports Sedans season after claiming victory in the final race of the weekend.

Earlier, Steve Tamasi won Race 2 on Sunday morning, heading Ricciardello and Jake Camilleri in the Marc II.

Ricciardello then headed Thomas Randle in Race 3, the Tickford driver having run into mechanical problems in Race 2.

Jack Perkins also ran into trouble, which ruled him out of the last race of the weekend.

Heritage Touring Cars

Having dominated Race 1 before sitting out Saturday’s Race 2, Jack Le Brocq returned to win races 3 and 5.

Race 4 went to John Mina in a Ford Falcon XD, the race exclusively for Group C cars.

Le Brocq claimed the five-lap Race 3 by more than 23-seconds from Adrian Allisey (Holden Commodore) and Bill Cutler (BMW M3).

Mark Eddy (Nissan Skyline) was second in Race 5, by just under six seconds behind Le Brocq with Allisey third.

Radical Australia Cup

Chris Perini won the second Radical Australia Cup race of the weekend, heading home James Winslow and Yasser Shahin in the 50-minute encounter.

Taking the lead following the compulsory pit stop window, Perini won by almost six seconds.

Behind the Winslow/Shahin combination, which had led the opening dozen laps, was Kim Burke.

The Neilsons claimed the round win with Haggarty second, and Chris Medland third for the weekend.

Group S

Wayne Seabrook claimed the final Groups S Racing win of the weekend.

Seabrook led Victorian James Calvert-Jones home, with Tom Walstab third.

Earlier in the day Seabrook took the Race 3 victory, with Rusty French second and Doug Barbour rounding out the podium.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]