NATIONALS: Barlow seals maiden Prototypes victory

Saturday 14th April, 2018 - 6:56pm


Australian Prototype Series

Australian Prototype Series

Darren Barlow has claimed his first Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels win in the category’s opening race at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The Stohr driver moved from the second row of the grid to lead the race at the opening corner.

Peter Paddon battled Jason Makris in the early stages before pressuring Barlow, only for a mistake to drop him to third.

Two races are set to follow on Sunday to conclude the round.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

Teenager Cooper Murray scored his first Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia victory, dominating the opening race of the weekend.

He was trailed home by Max Vidau, some 20-seconds in arrears, with 23Red Racing’s Luis Leeds rounding out the podium.

Pole-sitter Simon Fallon fell to fourth in the 22-lap encounter.

The series returns for a further two races on Sunday to round out its opening round for the year.

Heritage Touring Cars

Jack Le Brocq dominated the opening Heritage Touring Cars race, winning the five lap affair by ten seconds.

He set a lap record in the process, 2:09.3432s, a full 12-seconds faster than anyone else could manage.

In second was Adrian Allisey in a Holden Commodore from Bill Cutler in a BMW M3, while high attrition on Friday saw seven cars fail to make the race start.

Le Brocq sat out Race 2, opening the door for Mark Eddy to win from David Towe, and Adrian Allisey.

The weekend will be rounded out with three races on Sunday.

Sports Sedans

Jack Perkins claimed the first National Sports Sedan Series race of the season, setting a lap record in the process.

Perkins set a 1:50.1771s, the fastest time of the day on the International circuit, to lay claim to the outright lap record.

Steve Tamasi finished second, 25-seconds behind Perkins, with Tony Ricciardello third.

Starting from the front row, Thomas Randle was forced out with mechanical problems.

Two races follow on Sunday to round out the weekend for the category.

Radical Australia Cup

James Winslow crossed the line first in the opening Radical Australia Cup race only to be excluded courtesy of a post-race penalty.

Winslow failed to serve his compulsory pit stop in a race that was interrupted by the safety car and called at 40-minutes.

His exclusion resulted in Brad and Michael Neilson claiming the win over Chris Medland and Simon Haggarty.

Radical Australia Cup returns to the track for its second 50-minute race on Sunday morning.

Group S

Converting pole position into an opening race win, Rusty French claimed Group S honours from Tony Floreani.

French, driving a DeTomaso Panter, took the flag by just under four seconds after the four lap affair, a quartet of Porsche 911s trailing him home.

Behind Floreani was Wayne Seabrook, the duo split by just a tenth of a second at the finish.

Group S Racing returns on Sunday for a further two races. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!