Whincup fastest, Tickfords miss top 10 in Prac 4

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has set the fastest lap in Supercars Practice 4 at Symmons Plains but all four Tickford Falcons will have to go into the first part of Qualifying for Race 8 of the championship.

Whincup was first for most of the 20-minute session though Triple Eight team-mate Craig Lowndes briefly put himself at the top of the timing screen.

Lowndes clocked a 0:50.7212s in the Autobarn ZB Commodore with a couple of minutes remaining before Whincup went just 0.0308s quicker.

“We learnt a lot from yesterday,” said Lowndes.


“We had good tyre life yesterday, you normally spring up for qualifying but this was a practice session so you’ve still got to learn a little bit this morning.

“We were good enough obviously to be the in top 10. Things are looking really positive for us at the moment.”

Scott McLaughlin was just over a tenth off the benchmark in his Shell V-Power Falcon, while team-mate Fabian Coulthard also earned a bye to Part 2 of Armor All Qualifying in ninth position.

Jack Le Brocq’s breakout weekend continued when he finished fourth-fastest in the Tekno Autosports Commodore, after he went through all three parts of qualifying on the Saturday then finished 10th in Race 7.

David Reynolds, James Courtney, Garth Tander, and Shane van Gisbergen filled fifth through eighth, while Rick Kelly completed the top 10.

Cameron Waters was Tickford’s best in 11th at just 0.2714s away from Whincup, with team-mates Mark Winterbottom 16th, Chaz Mostert 21st, and Richie Stanaway 26th.

“I probably would have preferred to go straight through (into Part 2 of qualifying) to be honest. That was the aim for that session,” lamented Waters.

“We’re just kind of struggling with the cars, all four of us have got kind of a similar problem.

“It’s weird but we’re slowly chipping away and all trying to work out what it is.”

Scott Pye too missed the cut-off in 12th position.

There is now a short turnaround to Armor All Qualifying at 1105 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 4

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.6904
2 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.7212 0:00.0308
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 0:50.7988 0:00.1084
4 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8389 0:00.1485
5 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8393 0:00.1489
6 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8436 0:00.1532
7 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8645 0:00.1741
8 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9284 0:00.2380
9 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 0:50.9330 0:00.2426
10 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:50.9471 0:00.2567
11 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 0:50.9618 0:00.2714
12 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9644 0:00.2740
13 8 Blackwoods Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0036 0:00.3132
14 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 0:51.0475 0:00.3571
15 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0565 0:00.3661
16 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.0622 0:00.3718
17 23 Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:51.0909 0:00.4005
18 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1027 0:00.4123
19 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.1350 0:00.4446
20 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.1909 0:00.5005
21 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.1928 0:00.5024
22 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 0:51.4232 0:00.7328
23 21 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.4291 0:00.7387
24 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.4506 0:00.7602
25 99 Erebus Thermosphere Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.5064 0:00.8160
26 56 Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.6443 0:00.9539

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]