SVG leads Red Bull lockout in Race 7 qualifying

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 7th April, 2018 - 1:55pm


Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup will share the front row for Race 7 of the Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains as Chaz Mostert was caught out by the new qualifying format.

The Triple Eight ZB Commodore drivers both came out and laid down 50.6s at the start of the third and final part of Armor All Qualifying.

While they could not better their respective efforts in the rest of the 10-minute stanza, nor could anyone else despite Scott McLaughlin’s late effort.

“Thankfully we had a good car and didn’t have to spend too many tyres to get through to the next session,” said van Gisbergen, who moves to three Armor All Pole Positions for the year to date.

“It was pretty good, and it worked; there was not much traffic out there, everyone got a fair shot at it, so well done to Supercars, they’ve done a good job.”

McLaughlin went fastest to the first sector on his last flying lap, with new tyres only on the working side of his Shell V-Power FGX Falcon, but ultimately could not improve and will line up third on the grid.

Craig Lowndes, who was fastest in Part 2 of qualifying with a time quicker than that which put Whincup on the front row, opted to only make one run in Part 3.

He initially put the Autobarn Commodore fifth and then improved marginally to qualify fourth for the opening race of weekend.

“I’m really looking forward to the weekend,” said Lowndes.

“Obviously, it’s a circuit that really suits my style; late braking, get it in, get it out.

“We all talk about that hairpin – Turn 4, it’s so difficult to get into it. Its like a NASCAR bowl, you’ve got to get out and get that big slingshot.

“We’ve got good straight line (speed) and handling, it’s just a matter of getting the thing stopped and turned.”

Walkinshaw Andretti United’s upturn in form continued with James Courtney qualifying fifth and Scott Pye seventh.

They were split by David Reynolds (Erebus Motorsport), with the top 10 rounded out by rookie Jack Le Brocq (Tekno Autosports) and Garth Tander (Garry Rogers Motorsport).

The latter two had both come all the way from Part 1 of qualifying, which Le Brocq topped.

Fabian Coulthard (Shell V-Power Racing) heads the list of those who did not make the final 10 minutes of qualifying, while Tickford Racing’s best were Cameron Waters in 13th and Mark Winterbottom in 15th.

They were separated by the leading Nissan of Rick Kelly in 14th.

Mostert, who finished the session with new tyres just on the rear of the Supercheap Auto Falcon, fell just 0.0127s short of making it out of Part 1 of Armor All Qualifying and will therefore take up 17th position on the starting grid this afternoon.

Most of the 16-car field which were first on-track started on new tyres in a bid to ensure that they were among the top six that moved on to Part 2.

Simona de Silvestro (Nissan Motorsport) ended up being hurt significantly by missing the top 10 in Friday practice when she ended up 15th in Part 1 and therefore 25th on the grid.

Race 7 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, the first race of the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, takes place over 50 laps from 1645 local time/AEST.

Results: Armor All Qualifying for Race 7

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap* Split
1 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.6381
2 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.6897 0:00.0516
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 0:50.7573 0:00.1192
4 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.7824 0:00.1443
5 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8428 0:00.2047
6 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8498 0:00.2117
7 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8640 0:00.2259
8 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9604 0:00.3223
9 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0832 0:00.4451
10 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2352 0:00.5971
11 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 0:50.9890 0:00.3509
12 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9951 0:00.3570
13 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.0249 0:00.3868
14 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:51.0655 0:00.4274
15 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.0992 0:00.4611
16 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 0:51.2326 0:00.5945
17 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.1186 0:00.4805
18 8 Blackwoods Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2085 0:00.5704
19 56 Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.2120 0:00.5739
20 99 Erebus Thermosphere Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2268 0:00.5887
21 23 Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:51.2687 0:00.6306
22 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.3603 0:00.7222
23 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.3621 0:00.7240
24 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.4583 0:00.8202
25 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 0:51.5509 0:00.9128
26 21 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.6511 0:01.0130

* In respective last part of qualifying comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!