Raikkonen fastest despite loose wheel in Bahrain

Tom Howard

Saturday 7th April, 2018 - 3:47am


Kimi Raikkonen

Kimi Raikkonen emerged fastest in Friday practice for the Bahrain Grand Prix despite ending Practice 2 on the sidelines.

The Ferrari driver posted a 1:29.817s effort after becoming the first to fit super soft rubber in the second 90 minute practice outing.

Raikkonen’s lap came amid a qualifying simulation before he and the majority of the field conducted race runs.

However, his session came to an abrupt halt with 14 minutes remaining when he pulled off the track with a loose front right having just visited the pits for soft compound tyres.

The incident will be investigated by the stewards who elected to issue the squad with a €5,000 fine.

Ferrari team-mate Sebastian Vettel completed a one-two for the Maranello outfit after his personal best fell 0.011s shy of Raikkonen’s benchmark.

Valtteri Bottas was third for Mercedes albeit half a second adrift of Raikkonen while reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton was fourth.

The Brit was on course to set a faster time but was baulked by Haas F1’s Kevin Magnussen.

Max Verstappen was the quickest of the Red Bull drivers in fifth although his day had been hampered by a loss of power that necessitated an engine manifold change in Practice 1.

Meanwhile, Daniel Ricciardo was sixth in the sister RB14 having topped the opening 90 minute session.

The Australian was almost a second slower than pacesetter Raikkonen.

Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg occupied seventh position ahead of Toro Rosso’s Pierre Gasly, who impressed in eighth spot.

McLaren completed the top 10 as Fernando Alonso headed team-mate Stoffel Vandoorne.

The pair evaluated upgrades which were initially expected to arrive in time for the season opening Australian Grand Prix.

New Zealand’s Brendon Hartley propped up the field in 20th position after completing 38 laps in the Toro Rosso.

Practice 3 is scheduled for 2200 (AEST) on Saturday with qualifying due to start at 0100 (AEST) on Sunday morning.

Result: Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix Practice 2

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m29.817s 32
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m29.828s 0.011s 37
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m30.380s 0.563s 31
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m30.472s 0.655s 32
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1m30.745s 0.928s 32
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m30.751s 0.934s 31
7 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1m31.220s 1.403s 34
8 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso/Honda 1m31.232s 1.415s 38
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Renault 1m31.282s 1.465s 29
10 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Renault 1m31.422s 1.605s 35
11 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m31.591s 1.774s 33
12 Carlos Sainz Renault 1m31.601s 1.784s 34
13 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1m31.809s 1.992s 31
14 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m31.868s 2.051s 34
15 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1m31.969s 2.152s 35
16 Charles Leclerc Sauber/Ferrari 1m32.372s 2.555s 37
17 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1m32.382s 2.565s 30
18 Sergey Sirotkin Williams/Mercedes 1m32.474s 2.657s 37
19 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1m32.733s 2.916s 32
20 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso/Honda 1m32.908s 3.091s 38

Result: Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix Practice 1

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m31.060s 14
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m31.364s 0.304s 24
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m31.458s 0.398s 18
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m31.470s 0.410s 17
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m32.272s 1.212s 21
6 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m32.516s 1.456s 23
7 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso/Honda 1m32.779s 1.719s 26
8 Carlos Sainz Renault 1m32.885s 1.825s 21
9 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1m32.971s 1.911s 19
10 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1m33.104s 2.044s 18
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Renault 1m33.223s 2.163s 24
12 Charles Leclerc Sauber/Ferrari 1m33.278s 2.218s 20
13 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Renault 1m33.364s 2.304s 25
14 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1m33.379s 2.319s 22
15 Sergey Sirotkin Williams/Mercedes 1m33.467s 2.407s 29
16 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso/Honda 1m33.497s 2.437s 27
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1m33.508s 2.448s 22
18 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m33.662s 2.602s 26
19 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1m33.794s 2.734s 23
20 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 2 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!