Van Gisbergen to race in Aus GT at The Bend

Shane van Gisbergen will race Tony Quinn’s McLaren at The Bend

Shane van Gisbergen features in the 21-car field which will tackle next weekend’s Australian Endurance Championship opener at The Bend in a two-part race.

The 68-lap race will be split across Saturday twilight and Sunday morning at Australia’s newest permanent circuit.

The starting grid will be set on the basis of average times for each car’s two drivers before the first 24 laps of the race take place from late Saturday afternoon.

On the following morning, the race picks up where it left off the evening before with the final 44 laps.

The program makes for a total of nearly 530km of racing around the 7.77km GT Circuit layout.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of Speedseries. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Among the 21-car field are 16 GT3 cars and the five previously announced GT4s.

Van Gisbergen partners Tony Quinn in a McLaren 650S as one of several current or former Supercars Championship drivers.

David Reynolds confirmed this week that he will tackle all three AEC races of the Australian GT season with current championship leader Jaie Robson, while Cameron McConville’s return in a Lamborghini will also take place at The Bend.

John Bowe is back behind the wheel of a Ferrari at Maranello Motorsport, while Tony D’Alberto, Warren Luff, Dean Canto, Steve Richards, and Craig Baird are also in familiar environments.

Luke Youlden will share a Mercedes-AMG with Yasser Shahin off the back of his impressive performance in an ultimately frustrating Bathurst 12 Hour campaign in February.

Action begins with Practice on Friday April 13.

Entry list: Australian Endurance Championship Round 1 (Australian GT Championship Round 2), The Bend Motorsport Park Updated

Num Team/Sponsor Drivers Car Class
1 Valvoline Geoff Emery
Garth Tander
Audi R8 LMS Championship
3 Ah Apartments Ash Samadi
Dylan O’Keeffe
Audi R8 LMS Championship
4 BP Ultimate TBA
6 Timken Zagame Motorsport Adrian Deitz
Cameron McConville
Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Championship
7 Mariani Beef Jerky Tony Quinn
Shane van Gisbergen
Mclaren 650S GT3 Championship
8 WM Waste Management Max Twigg
Tony D’Alberto
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
11 Objective Racing Tony Walls
Warren Luff
McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
19 Hogs Breath Café / Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith
Todd O’Brien
Ginetta GT4 GT4
24 KFC/Ctech Laser/Moveitnet/B&B Tony Bates
Daniel Gaunt
Audi R8 LMS Championship
29 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate / FreeM Jim Manolios
Dean Canto
Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Championship
48 Interlloy / M Motorsport Justin McMillan
Glenn Wood
Reiter KTM X-Bow GT4
50 Interlloy / M Motorsport David Crampton
Trent Harrison
Reiter KTM X-Bow GT4
59 Total Oil / Opti-Coat / Logitech Fraser Ross
Duvashen Padayachee
McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
63 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett
Jake Fouracre
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
67 JMG / Bilstein Jeremy Gray
Andrew Miedecke
Aston Martin Vantage GT4 GT4
88 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards
John Bowe
Ferrari 488 GT3 Championship
98 Aussie Driver Search Jaie Robson
David Reynolds
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards
Michael Almond
BMW M6 GT3 Championship
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor
Craig Baird
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
777 The Bend Motor Sport Park Yasser Shahin
Luke Youlden
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
911 Walkinshaw GT3 Liam Talbot
John Martin
Porsche 911 GT3-R Championship

Schedule: Australian Endurance Championship Round 1 (Australian GT Championship Round 2)

Time Session Length/Distance
Friday April 13
1535 Practice 60mins
Saturday April 14
1230 Driver A Qualifying 30mins
1315 Driver B Qualifying 30mins
1700 Race Part 1 24 laps
Sunday April 15
1040 Race Part 2 44 laps

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]