Record grid for Australian Prototypes opener

Thursday 5th April, 2018 - 3:49pm


Darren Barlow will race a Stohr

The Australian Prototype Series is set for a record grid of at least 21 cars for its first round of 2018 at The Bend.

The entry list marks the first time that the series has attracted more than 20 cars, with entries still open, and includes cars from West, RFR, Wolf, Phoenix, Prince, Stohr, and Radical.

On debut will be three Wolf GB08 CN Prototypes, while a V8-Powered Radical SR8 will also run in APS for the first time.

The series will be split across multiple classes again, with P1 for outright, Kumho Cup for part-time or less experienced drivers, FL1 for open-wheel Formula 1000 cars, and a separate class trophy for Radical SR3s.

Defending champion Mark Laucke will again campaign his West WX10 Sports Racer.

He is likely to face competition from Jam Motorsport’s three Wolf CN Prototypes driven by Sage Murdoch, Jason Makris, and John-Paul Drake.

Series organisers will confirm new-for-2018 Balance of Performance regulations prior to Round 1.

The Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels will run with Shannons Nationals at Tailem Bend on April 13-15.

Entry list: Round 1, The Bend Motorsport Park

Num Class Team/Sponsor Driver State Car
1 P1 Laucke Flour Mills Mark Laucke SA West WX10
4 FL1 Orlando Phoenix Terry Peovitis WA RFR F1000
7 Kumho Keough Racing Brenton Keough QLD West WR1000
8 P1 Racesah Pty Ltd/Jam Motorsport Sage Murdoch NSW Wolf GB08CN
11 Kumho Lark Construction Scott Mackay VIC West WR 1000
14 FL1 Burns Motorsport Stewart Burns WA Phoenix F1000
16 Kumho MSR Motorsport Fabrication Mark Short SA Prince LSR
27 P1 GWR Racing Darren Barlow NSW Stohr WF1
31 Radical First Focus Peter Paddon NSW Radical SR3
32 Radical Hughes Motorsport/Pro Vinyl Sue Hughes NSW Radical SR3
33 Radical Taylor Collision Michael Whiting SA Radical SR3
34 Radical Champion’s Business Growth Advisers Stephen Champion NSW Radical SR3
38 Radical RA Motorsport Mitchell Neilson NSW Radical SR3
42 Radical Hughes Supercar Services Philip Hughes VIC Radical SR3
44 P1 Marina Mirage Gold Coast Jason Makris QLD Wolf GB08CN
53 Kumho Bryan Stoeckel Jonathon Stoeckel VIC West WR1000
66 Kumho Jam Motorsport John-Paul Drake SA Wolf GB08CN
68 Radical Kim Burke Kim Burke NSW Radical SR3
80 Radical GWR Racing Paul Braico NSW Radical SR3
86 P1 Conquest Services Dimitrios Zartaloudis VIC Radical SR8
88 Radical RA Motorsport Rowan Ross NSW Radical SR3 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!