Zukanovic continues build of TCM XD Falcon

The latest image of the Action Racing XD Falcon

Marcus Zukanovic will hold off the debut of his XD Falcon until at least Round 3 of the Touring Car Masters series to ensure that the car is adequately prepared.

Zukanovic and the family-run Action Racing team had hoped to have the car, which will be the first of its type in TCM, ready in time for the season-opener in Adelaide and then this weekend’s second round at Symmons Plains.

However, an unexpectedly complex build process has seen that timeline shift further.

“Being a smaller scale team, a family-based team, the resources are not as accessible so it’s just taking us a little longer to design and get through stuff,” Zukanovic told Speedcafe.com.

“We didn’t anticipate the build to be so intricate. They’re a very intricate car the way the rule book allows you to build them and that’s probably one aspect that we didn’t anticipate.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Touring Car Masters. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

“We are definitely building it, we’re fully committed, it’s just taken a bit longer.

“If we build it right properly the first time, we won’t have too many issues.”

Zukanovic said that the team, which is managed by father Mick, has installed the engine, gearbox, and driveline, and is now moving into “trying to set up plumbing and wiring and all that sort of fancy stuff.”

The Victorian outfit is not the only team building an XD, with Team Johnson planning to introduce its own example, currently under construction, next year.

A 15-car field has been announced for Round 2 on the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint support card.

The line-up includes the return of Andrew Fisher and the Jesus Racing XY Falcon which had been sidelined due to a pre-season testing crash, while Gary O’Brien will take to the track in a new Holden Monaro GTS.

The Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters will appear for Practice and Qualifying on Friday.

Entry list: Round 2, Symmons Plains Raceway

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Year Make Model
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
8 Bendigo Retro Muscle Cars Gary O’Brien 1972 Holden Monaro GTS
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO
16 Carne Grill / Precinct Bar Gavin Bullas 1970 Ford Mustang Fastback
17 WM Waste / Herrod Performance Steve Johnson 1969 Ford Mustang Fastback
18 Wilson Security / PAYCE John Bowe 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
19 Slideways Go Kart Centre Cameron Wilson 1970 Ford Mustang Fastback
25 Maxi-Trans Trailers Paul Freestone 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
27 MOCOMM Motorsport Communications Jim Pollicina 1974 Holden Torana A9X
35 Bigmate Racing Jason Gomersall 1978 Holden Torana A9X Hatchback
38 Leon Bell Automotive / Port Sorell Storage Leon Bell 1973 Holden Monaro GTS Coupe
46 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin 1969 Ford Boss Mustang
60 Glennan Transport / ANGLOMOIL Lubricants Cameron Tilley 1969 Valiant Pacer
85 Whiteline Racing / King Springs Mark King 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS
95 Whiteline Racing / Fabre Australia Adam Bressington 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]