Reynolds claims Supercars Melbourne 400 finale

David Reynolds

David Reynolds claimed the final race win of the Coates Hire Supercars Melbourne 400, highlighting the championship credentials of his combination with Erebus Motorsport.

Reynolds made a superior start to Jamie Whincup and passed Car #1 into the first corner before leading all the way.

Nick Percat achieved his second podium of the weekend and best result for Brad Jones Racing in second position.

Whincup started the race from pole position but was forced to settle for third position after being held wide by Reynolds at the first corner, allowing Percat to get a run towards Turn 3.

Reynolds’ win marked his first at Erebus in solo mode and made the Holden driver the fourth Supercars race winner of the weekend and fifth of the first six races this season.

“It was a good race. I got a good start and kind of just led the race from there,” he said.

“Everything went to plan, there were no dramas, and after the battle we had yesterday in the weather, dry conditions, it’s a good way to finish.”

Tickford Racing’s Chaz Mostert was the highest Ford driver in fourth ahead of Saturday’s Race 5 winner, Scott Pye.

Shell V-Power Racing duo Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin were unable to build on their early weekend speed, finishing sixth and seventh.

Michael Caruso was the top Nissan performer in eighth place ahead of Garth Tander (Garry Rogers Motorsport) and Will Davison (23Red Racing).

While he was disappointed he couldn’t convert his pole position into a victory, Whincup’s form over the four races earned him the inaugural Larry Perkins Trophy.

“It’s sweet and sour at the moment. Just being honest, I’m filthy at myself for a shocking fourth race (of the weekend),” Whincup explained.

“I just muffed the start but hey, to grab the Larry Perkins Trophy is obviously a good job, the best job over the weekend, so we’ll take that.

“Larry came into the truck just before and he reckons it’s got a bit of titanium, he reckons it’s a high-quality trophy, so that feels good, that’ll fit nicely in the workshop.”

While Whincup earned some significant silverware over the weekend, at the back end of the field, his Triple Eight team-mate Shane van Gisbergen moved from 26th to 18th on the opening lap.

In another example of mixed fortune for a team, Reynolds was comfortable up front while team-mate Anton De Pasquale had to catch a big slide in order to stay off the wall at Turn 10 after some opening lap action.

Walkinshaw Andretti United’s James Courtney’s race was ruined on the second lap after he was turned around by James Golding (Garry Rogers Motorsport), who was hit from behind by Tim Blanchard (Brad Jones Racing).

Rick Kelly (Nissan Motorsport) then made unavoidable contact with Courtney, ending the race for both.

“We started (near) last and ended up 18th and was a cracking opening lap with Shane,” said Courtney.

“Unfortunately, I was the end of the conga line there and got spat out at the end.”

After three laps, the leading pack of Reynolds, Percat, Whincup and Mostert were separated by 1.5 seconds leaving no room for error for the front pack. Behind them, Pye was involved in a battle with Shell V-Power Racing cars for fifth place.

McLaughlin moved ahead of Coulthard on lap 7 while van Gisbergen continued his charge past the Tickford pair of Cameron Waters and Mark Winterbottom for 14th.

Golding’s day got worse after he was forced to stop car #34 on track thanks to heavy smoke, with the Safety Car called to clear it from the area after Turn 2.

Winterbottom, Waters and Blanchard all took fresh tyres during the period in a push to make some ground late in the race.

The race restarted on Lap 11, with Reynolds maintaining the lead over Percat and Whincup going into the Turn 1, while Coulthard reclaimed sixth from McLaughlin.

It turned out to be the final lap of the contest, with stewards calling the race two laps earlier than its scheduled 13.

Waters was given a five second post-race penalty, dropping car #6 further down the order.

The next event of the championship is the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint at Symmons Plains Raceway on April 6-8.

Results: Race 6, Coates Hire Supercars Melbourne 400

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 11 25:58.6767
2 8 Tempur Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 11 25:59.6846
3 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:00.5872
4 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:01.5991
5 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:02.2167
6 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:02.9397
7 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:03.4349
8 23 Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 11 26:03.8255
9 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:04.1669
10 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:04.5259
11 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:04.9959
12 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:05.3411
13 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:05.6615
14 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 11 26:06.1232
15 99 Erebus Thermosphere Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:07.1624
16 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 11 26:08.3499
17 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:08.4173
18 56 Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:09.3245
19 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:10.1510
20 21 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:10.1582
21 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 11 26:10.8204
22 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 11 26:14.2596
23 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 9 26:52.9926
DNF 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 7 14:14.5925
DNF 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1 2:12.4799
DNF 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1 2:14.6417

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Shane van Gisbergen 486
2 David Reynolds 437
3 Scott McLaughlin 425
4 Chaz Mostert 416
5 Scott Pye 397
6 Jamie Whincup 379
7 James Courtney 375
8 Nick Percat 352
9 Mark Winterbottom 329
10 Cameron Waters 325
11 Tim Slade 320
12 Garth Tander 309
13 Craig Lowndes 309
14 Fabian Coulthard 308
15 Michael Caruso 289
16 Will Davison 286
17 Anton De Pasquale 206
18 Lee Holdsworth 198
19 Rick Kelly 193
20 Andre Heimgartner 188
21 Jack Le Brocq 167
22 Todd Hazelwood 157
23 Tim Blanchard 137
24 Simona de Silvestro 132
25 James Golding 116
26 Richie Stanaway 104

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]