New inductees honoured at Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame gala

The 2018 Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame inductees

The Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame, presented by, has inducted 21 new members at a gala function attended by F1 sporting boss Ross Brawn in Melbourne.

The Australian Hall of Fame was launched in 2016 with an inaugural list of 30 inductees and a further 21 recipients were acknowledged last year.

This year’s black-tie ceremony was held in front of more than 450 guests and included the addition of a Legends category, which now features three-time Formula 1 World champion Sir Jack Brabham and five-time MotoGP champion Mick Doohan.

The inductee list featured competitors from virtually every facet of the sport, including ‘special’ awards for speedway promoter Frank Arthur, television commentator/producer Mike Raymond, and motorcycle crew chief Jeremy Burgess.

The night included guest appearances from Formula 1’s director of motor sports Brawn, who is also regarded as one of the most successful F1 team principals who worked with Michael Schumacher during his seven world championship seasons.

Hall of Fame chairman, Garry Connelly, said the Hall of Fame event had quickly become Australian motorsport’s night of nights.

“It has been fantastic to see how this event has grown in both numbers and stature in just three short years,” said Connelly.

“We have inducted another 21 quality personalities tonight who have all contributed significantly to Australian motor sport, both on and off the track.

“The feedback on the list provided by our voting panel has been very positive and again show the depth of talent we have produced in this country.

“The introduction of the Legends category has added a new element to the Hall of Fame and Sir Jack Brabham and Mick Doohan were the obvious choices for the inaugural presentation.”

Brawn meanwhile joins a list of high-profile international guests who have enjoyed the night including Formula One World Drivers’ Champion Lewis Hamilton, FIA President Jean Todt and Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport Toto Wolff.

The Englishman, who is now a key player in the forging the future of F1, has enjoyed a stellar career in the sport, highlighted by world championship wins at Benetton, Ferrari and his eponymous Brawn GP squad in 2009.

Brawn famously worked alongside Michael Schumacher where he oversaw seven world championships for F1’s most successful driver.

The world of two-wheel competition was represented by no less than five inductees including road racing champions Ken Kavanagh and Matt Mladin, motorcross ace Gary Flood and Speedway guns Billy Sanders and Aub Lawson.

Graeme Cowin joined Ash Marshall and Jim Read as the third inductee from the drag racing ranks.

Brothers Geoff and David Brabham joined their father Sir Jack Brabham as Hall of Fame inductees.

The Le Mans 24 Hours winners headed a list of road racers including touring car stars John Bowe and John Harvey, and former F1 drivers Tim Schenken and Mark Webber.

Greg Carr and the late Frank Kilfoyle represented the sport of rallying while Craig Martin stamped his name in history for his achievements in off-road competition.

Drew Price was recognised for his unquestionable contribution to karting both behind the wheel and as a kart innovator.

The late great four-wheel speedway champion George Tatnell was also inducted.

There were three special category awards which acknowledged the contributions of television pioneer Mike Raymond, post-World War II speedway promoter Frank Arthur, who was also a star rider in own right, and legendary MotoGP crew chief Jeremy Burgess.

Veteran Victorian Flag Marshal Roger Chirnside was awarded the Spirit of Speed Volunteer of the Year award, presented by Michelin, for more than 50 years of the service to the sport.

2018 inductee list

Motor Racing
David Brabham
Geoff Brabham
John Bowe
John Harvey
Tim Schenken
Mark Webber

Frank Kilfoyle (D)
Greg Carr

Off Road
Craig Martin

Drew Price

Motorcycle Road Racing
Ken Kavanagh
Matt Mladin

Motorcycle Motocross
Gary Flood

Motorcycle Speedway
Billy Sanders (D)
Aub Lawson (D)

Speedway Cars
George Tatnell (D)

Drag Racing
Graeme Cowin

Frank Arthur (D)
Mike Raymond
Jeremy Burgess

Legend Status
Sir Jack Brabham (D)
Mick Doohan

2018 Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame, presented by overview

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]