Porsche in AGP ride session crash

Daniel Herrero

Thursday 22nd March, 2018 - 2:33pm


The wounded 911 GT3 Cup car

A 25-car field has taken to Practice for the Carrera Cup round at the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix after a ride session crash for Marc Cini.

Cini’s Porsche was one of a number of cars across various support categories on the Albert Park circuit during the morning ride session.

The Tag Heuer Pro-Am class driver lost the rear end of the car exiting Turn 14 and made right-front contact with the concrete wall on driver’s right.

Cini told that he had no prior indication that the car was about to spin.

“I don’t know what happened. Whether (there was something) on the track or something broke on the car, I don’t know,” said the Porsche Centre Melbourne driver.

“It was just normal pace, going through normal – but with the passenger, obviously – at fairly low speed and no warning whatsoever; it just snapped and slid into a wall.”

There are suggestions that a Ferrari Challenge car had dropped fluid on the circuit prior to Cini’s arrival at the scene, though he was not certain of the cause.

“I’ve heard the same but I don’t know, I couldn’t tell you,” said Cini.

“It certainly felt something like that because it wasn’t a normal grip lose. It just let go and kept going.” understands that the car will be taken offsite for repairs and is likely to return to the circuit tomorrow.

Defending Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia champion David Wall set the pace in the series’ only practice session which followed later in the day.

His fastest lap of 1:58.2647s was just enough to remain on top as Dylan O’Keeffe moved to second with his final timed lap.

Round 1 winner Jaxon Evans was third-fastest, from Alex Davison, Cameron Hill, and Nick McBride.

Former Virgin Australia Supercars Championship full-timers James Moffat and Dale Wood finished seventh and eighth respectively.

Last year’s Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge series winner Jordan Love was ninth-fastest, one position ahead of fastest Pro-Am class driver Max Twigg.

Qualifying starts at 1550 local time/AEDT before Race 1 this evening.

Results: Practice

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Fastest lap Split
1 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall (NSW) P 1:58.2647
2 88 Allstar Equipment Sales Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) P 1:58.3371 0:00.0724
3 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans (QLD) P 1:58.3687 0:00.1040
4 888 TBC Alex Davison (QLD) P 1:58.4672 0:00.2025
5 111 Southern Star Truck Centre/Any Cameron Hill (ACT) P 1:58.5955 0:00.3308
6 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) P 1:58.6948 0:00.4301
7 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat (TBC) P 1:58.7702 0:00.5055
8 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) P 1:58.9153 0:00.6506
9 777 Rodney Jane Racing Jordan Love (WA) P 1:59.1736 0:00.9089
10 80 WM Waste Management Max Twigg (VIC) A 1:59.8926 0:01.6279
11 4 Grove Motorsport Pty Ltd Stephen Grove (VIC) A 2:00.0961 0:01.8314
12 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) A 2:00.1927 0:01.9280
13 15 Volante Rosso Motorsport Josh Hunt (QLD) P 2:00.2588 0:01.9941
14 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood (TAS) P 2:00.3547 0:02.0900
15 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) A 2:00.5975 0:02.3328
16 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major (SA) P 2:00.7273 0:02.4626
17 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts Michael Almond (TBC) P 2:00.7786 0:02.5139
18 13 The Bend/htfu Sam Shahin (SA) A 2:00.9723 0:02.7076
19 20 Agas National Adrian Flack (NSW) A 2:01.0556 0:02.7909
20 6 Miles Advisory Partners Tim Miles (NSW) A 2:01.1445 0:02.8798
21 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook (VIC) A 2:01.3572 0:03.0925
22 808 Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne John Steffensen (VIC) A 2:01.8038 0:03.5391
23 5 Arris/Strongbuild Greg Taylor (NSW) A 2:01.9453 0:03.6806
24 131 Sonic Graham Williams (VIC) A 2:05.1500 0:06.8853
25 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee (NSW) A 2:05.6277 0:07.3630 has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!