Australian GT reveals 30-car AGP entry list

Australian GT will boast a 30-car field at the Australian Grand Prix

A 30-car field will take to Albert Park for Round 1 of the CAMS Australian GT Championship this weekend at the Australian Grand Prix.

Among the entry list is a three-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner, the 2005 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix winner, a Chevrolet Camaro, and four cars in the new GT4 class.

The winning combination from last November’s Australian Endurance Championship finale at the Highlands Motorsport Park will be represented with Tony D’Alberto again joining Max Twigg in a Mercedes-AMG GT3.

D’Alberto and Twigg also teamed up for February’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, along with Craig Baird, to finish 12th outright and sixth in the Class A Pro-Am class.

Baird is partnering Scott Taylor in another Mercedes-AMG, as he will do in the season’s three endurance races.

The Walkinshaw Racing-run Porsche 911 GT3-R will also take to the Melbourne streets in the hands of Liam Talbot and John Martin, who drove the car in last year’s Australian Endurance Championship but were in a Mark Griffith Mercedes-AMG for the most recent Bathurst 12 Hour.

As previously reported, three-time Le Mans winner Marcel Fassler joins defending Australian GT champion Geoff Emery in a Jamec Pem Audi, while three-time F1 race winner Giancarlo Fisichella will drive the Maranello Ferrari with Peter Edwards.

The 2017 Australian Endurance Championship-winning pair of Peter Hackett and now Super2 rookie Dominic Storey are sharing a Mercedes-AMG, and Tony Bates will make his racing return after a shunt at Townsville last July which required shoulder surgery.

The Championship and Trophy classes are comprised by 13 cars each, while four GT4-specification cars round out the entry list.

The quartet features an Aston Martin, a BMW, and a Ginetta, as well as Justin McMillan in the familiar KTM X-Bow.

All up, the field covers 11 manufacturers, including the Trophy class Chevrolet Camaro in the hands of Dale Paterson.

Australian GT will run the same four-race format as it did last year, with Pro drivers contesting Qualifying 1, Race 1, and Race 3, and a progressive grid for those sessions.

Am drivers will similarly tackle Qualifying 2, Race 2, and Race 4, while single drivers will tackle all six sessions throughout the weekend.

The two qualifying sessions and Race 1 will be held on the first day of the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix weekend this Thursday.

Entry list: Round 1, Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Class
1 Valvoline Geoff Emery
Marcel Fassler
Audi R8 LMS Championship
3 Ah Apartments Ash Samadi Audi R8 LMS Championship
7 Byron Bay Beef Jerky Tony Quinn McLaren 650S Championship
8 WM Waste Management Max Twigg
Tony D’Alberto
Mercedes-AMG Championship
24 Movienet/AFS Tony Bates
Daniel Gaunt
Audi R8 LMS Championship
29 Haemokinesis Jim Manolios
Dean Canto
Lamborghini Huracan Championship
59 YNA Autosport Fraser Ross McLaren 650S Championship
63 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett
Dominic Storey
Mercedes-AMG Championship
88 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards
Giancarlo Fisichella
Ferrari 488 Championship
98 Aussie Driver Search Jaie Robson Mercedes-AMG Championship
100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards
Dean Grant
BMW M6 Championship
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor
Craig Baird
Mercedes-AMG Championship
911 Walkinshaw GT3 Liam Talbot
John Martin
Porsche 911 GT3-R Championship
10 Hallmarc Michael Loccisano Porsche 991 GT3 Cup Trophy
12 Seidler Group Chris Seidler
Luke Seidler
Porsche 991 GT3 Cup Trophy
21 Melbourne Orthopaedic Group Shane Barwood Porsche 991 GT3 Cup Trophy
23 Kentucky Fried Chicken Matthew Stoupas Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy
31 The Porsche Broker Sam Fillmore Porsche 991 GT3 Cup Trophy
32 The Porsche Broker Daniel Stuttered Porsche 991 GT3 Cup Trophy
34 Motorsport Leading John Marriss Porsche 911 GT3-R Trophy
47 Mack Bros Roofing Products Wayne Mack Ferrari 458 Trophy
64 Aaron Laboratories Joseph Ensabella Porsche 997 GT3 Cup Trophy
71 Dale Paterson Motorsports Dale Paterson Chevrolet Camaro Trophy
77 JJA Consulting Group Jan Jinadasa Lamborghini Gallardo Trophy
188 EAT Furniture Rio Nugara Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy
199 Industrie Nick Kelly Audi R8 LMS Ultra Trophy
4 BMW Team SRM Xavier West BMW M4 GT4
19 Hogs Breath Café Mark Griffith Ginetta G55 GT4
48 Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan KTM X-Bow GT4
67 JMG/Bilstein Jeremy Gray Aston Martin Vantage GT4

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]