MotoGP announces MotoE teams

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 17th March, 2018 - 8:54am


The Energica MotoE bike on display in Qatar pic: Angel Nieto Team Twitter (@AngelNietoTeam)

The 11 teams which will contest the inaugural MotoE World Cup next year have been revealed by organisers.

As previously announced, the seven independent MotoGP teams will run two bikes each, namely Tech3 Racing, LCR Team, Marc VDS Racing Team, Pramac Racing, Angel Nieto Team, Esponsorama Avintia Racing, and Gresini Racing.

From the Moto2 and Moto3 ranks are Sky Racing Team VR46, Pons Racing, Dynavolt Intact GP, and SIC58 Squadra Corse.

Teams met with organisers at this weekend’s MotoGP season-opener in Qatar.

“We had the first meeting with all the teams who will be competing next year in MotoE,” said Cup Director Nicolas Goubert.

“There will be 11 teams, running 18 bikes. All the bikes will be Energica bikes, the same, so it will be a Cup.

“We will have five rounds next year in Europe. We haven’t yet decided on the tracks we’ll be going to, but as I said it was a kick off meeting so all things have to be put in place. Basically, it starts now.

“It was important to see all the teams because now they have enough information to get organised; to start looking at the riders they’ll have and look at the crew they’ll have.”

An Energica electric bike will be taken for a demonstration lap at each grand prix this year. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!