Zarco fastest in final pre-season MotoGP test

Johann Zarco pic:

Johann Zarco has finished on top of the final pre-season MotoGP test at the Losail International Circuit in Qatar.

The Tech3 Yamaha rider ended Day 3 and the test overall 0.247s clear of Movistar Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi and Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso.

Zarco went fastest with two hours remaining and further improved to a 1:54.029s come just over 0.1s shy of Jorge Lorenzo’s decade-old pole lap record (1:53.927s).

Rossi shook off a crash earlier in the seven-hour session to move into second position in the final hour, during which Dovizioso also clocked his personal-best.

LCR’s Cal Crutchlow was the fastest Honda in fourth position while Maverick Viñales vaulted from 20th to fifth in the final hour on his Movistar Yamaha.

Friday pace-setter Andrea Iannone did not appear on-track due to illness but the Suzuki Ecstar rider’s efforts earlier in the test held up for sixth on combined times.

Of the 23 riders to cut laps on the Saturday, 22 set their respective best times on the final day.

Next-fastest were Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda), Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar), Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati), and Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team).

Jack Miller (Pramac Ducati) was 10th on the day and 11th across the test, one position ahead of Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda).

Teams will return to Qatar for Round 1 on March 16-18.

Pre-season testing: Losail: Day 3

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:54.029
2 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:54.276 0.247/0.247
3 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:54.331 0.302/0.055
4 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:54.457 0.428/0.126
5 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:54.471 0.442/0.014
6 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:54.591 0.562/0.120
7 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:54.650 0.621/0.059
8 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:54.659 0.630/0.009
9 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 1:54.692 0.663/0.033
10 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:54.749 0.720/0.057
11 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:54.774 0.745/0.025
12 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:55.132 1.103/0.358
13 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:55.179 1.150/0.047
14 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:55.232 1.203/0.053
15 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:55.273 1.244/0.041
16 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:55.300 1.271/0.027
17 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:55.347 1.318/0.047
18 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:55.465 1.436/0.118
19 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:55.489 1.460/0.024
20 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:55.595 1.566/0.106
21 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:55.763 1.734/0.168
22 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:55.943 1.914/0.180
23 12 Tom LUTHI SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:56.122 2.093/0.179

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]