SVG doubles up as Whincup, McLaughlin hit trouble

Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Race two podium

Shane van Gisbergen claimed a deserved Adelaide 500 double victory after early contenders Jamie Whincup and Scott McLaughlin hit trouble.

The pole-sitter was forced to follow Whincup for the first half of the race before a gearbox drama for Car #1 saw van Gisbergen inherit the lead on lap 31.

Van Gisbergen briefly lost the advantage after the second round of pit stops to Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds before retaking the lead at Turn 9 as the race entered the final third.

Reynolds stayed in touch with van Gisbergen with the lead hovering around the second mark until the chequered flag.

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Garth Tander, who started eighth, completed the podium with 3.6s covering a Holden ZB Commodore one-two-three.

A puncture for McLaughlin took the Shell V-Power Racing Ford out of third on lap 26 and he was left to fight back to 10th, after being forced into a three stop race.

Whincup reacted best at the start to lead pole-sitter van Gisbergen to the Senna chicane, while McLaughlin followed with Mark Winterbottom in fourth.

The reigning champion seemed to have the edge over his team-mate van Gisbergen and rejoined in the lead with a 10 second advantage after the first round of pit stops.

Van Gisbergen ducked into the pits early in the race along with Winterbottom, James Courtney and Will Davison, the latter two pitted on the first lap having been languishing in the mid pack.

Despite a messy stop, van Gisbergen emerged ahead of Winterbottom and Courtney in a net second position.

McLaughlin held third after taking service but his race was soon dealt a blow when the Kiwi suffered a right front puncture at Turn 9, believed to have been caused by debris.

The issue fell well before the critical lap for refuelling to get home.

However, worse was to unfold for the race leader when Whincup suddenly slowed with a transmission issue.

He managed to crawl back to the pit lane before combination of marshals and team crew pushed the car back to the garage.

Amazingly, it proved to be his first retirement in 137 Supercars races.

“Fast car, we were under control. Gearbox temp was going up and up and up,” said Whincup.

“We could see it coming but nothing you can do, you just got to keep pressing on and then bang, no drive.

“Unfortunate, it’s the one that got away but that’s motorsport I guess.”

This handed team-mate van Gisbergen the lead from Winterbottom, Courtney, Reynolds and Tander.

Reynolds briefly emerged in the lead after the final round of stops but it was short-lived as van Gisbergen dived underneath the Erebus driver, who offered little in response, to grab the effective lead at Turn 9.

The pair were hotly pursued by Tander, who jumped Winterbottom after his final stop.

However, Winterbottom was the next of the lead group to hit trouble after he incurred a pit lane penalty for kerb hopping, much to the bemusement of the driver and team.

He rejoined the race in 13th spot after the visit to pit lane, where he would ultimately finish.

Van Gisbergen came under pressure from Reynolds in the final laps but refused to buckle under the pressure on the way to the chequered flag.

Tander followed the pair home in third ahead of Tickford Racing’s Chaz Mostert, who spent the majority of the race inside the top 10.

Tickford Racing team-mate Cameron Waters took fifth while Courtney (Walkinshaw Andretti United) completed a solid drive to sixth.

Craig Lowndes produced an impressive recovery from 17th to seventh, with the top 10 rounded out by Scott Pye (Walkinshaw Andretti United), Michael Caruso (Nissan Motorsport) and McLaughlin.

Fabian Coulthard’s difficult weekend in the #12 Shell Ford ended in 16th position.

The Supercars Championship will continue at the Rolex Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix from March 22-25.

Results: Race 2, Adelaide 500

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:02.0912
2 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:02.9159
3 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:05.7234
4 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:48:08.0475
5 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:48:13.3618
6 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:16.0416
7 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:16.7742
8 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:18.9771
9 23 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 78 1:48:19.3629
10 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:48:27.1774
11 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:27.8893
12 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:48:32.3259
13 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:48:32.8185
14 15 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 78 1:48:37.0146
15 8 Blackwoods Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:37.6686
16 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:48:44.2760
17 99 Erebus Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:48:46.1367
18 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 78 1:48:53.9375
19 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:49:05.2937
20 56 Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:49:08.4458
21 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 77 1:48:25.9974
22 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 77 1:48:28.4788
23 21 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 71 1:48:14.9109
24 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:49:21.6532
25 7 Nissan Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 61 1:48:37.2417
DNF 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 30 41:22.4356

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Shane van Gisbergen 300
2 David Reynolds 258
3 James Courtney 240
4 Chaz Mostert 216
5 Scott McLaughlin 207
6 Garth Tander 201
7 Craig Lowndes 180
8 Mark Winterbottom 177
9 Cameron Waters 168
10 Scott Pye 168
11 Will Davison 159
12 Michael Caruso 144
13 Tim Slade 135
14 Nick Percat 129
15 Jamie Whincup 102
16 Anton De Pasquale 102
17 Simona de Silvestro 102
18 Lee Holdsworth 99
19 Rick Kelly 99
20 Fabian Coulthard 99
21 Andre Heimgartner 84
22 Jack Le Brocq 84
23 Todd Hazelwood 81
24 James Golding 48
25 Richie Stanaway 45
26 Tim Blanchard 36

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]