Stewards hand down Adelaide penalties

Garth Tander

Stewards have handed down a number of penalties and determinations regarding incidents in the opening two races of the Supercars season at the Adelaide 500.

Garth Tander was hit with a post-race time penalty for his part in setting off a chain reaction which caused Cameron Waters to spin at Turn 9 on Lap 55 of Race 1.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport driver had made contact with the rear of Craig Lowndes’ Commodore, causing Lowndes to slide into Waters and turn the #6 Falcon around.

In a matter which was finalised on the following day, Tander was found guilty of Careless Driving and issued a five second time penalty.

The sanction saw him fall from 11th to 16th in the Race 1 classification, resulting in a loss of 15 championship points.

Nissan Motorsport’s Simona de Silvestro was not sanctioned regarding the incident which saw Tim Blanchard hit the wall at the Turn 8 sweeper four laps later.

Television footage suggested that the Nissan Motorsport driver may have made contact with the rear of Blanchard’s Commodore, but the Deputy Race Director “determined that the matter did not warrant referral to the Stewards.”

Erebus Motorsport was slapped with a $3,000 fine and loss of 30 teams’ championship points for beginning to refuel Anton de Pasquale’s Commodore before all four wheels had been raised off the ground in Race 1.

While there were no matters referred to post-race investigation after Race 2, Mark Winterbottom and his Tickford Racing boss Tim Edwards were left furious about a drive-through penalty handed down for kerb overuse at Senna Chicane.

Results: Race 1, Adelaide 500 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:18.6539
2 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:19.8763
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:56:22.0848
4 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:23.1329
5 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:56:25.4032
6 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:26.3202
7 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:56:28.1236
8 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:56:28.9708
9 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:29.5792
10 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:31.9581
11 8 Blackwoods Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:35.5563
12 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:35.5702
13 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:37.1109
14 23 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 78 1:56:38.8119
15 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 78 1:56:39.6674
16 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 78 1:56:39.9899
17 7 Nissan Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 78 1:56:46.1954
18 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 78 1:56:47.9309
19 99 Erebus Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 77 1:56:41.6759
20 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 77 1:56:50.5783
21 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 75 1:57:00.8076
22 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 75 1:57:16.9960
23 15 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 65 1:56:48.4100
DNF 56 Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 77 1:55:23.1554
DNF 21 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 58 1:25:28.0918
DNF 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 55 1:18:44.5268

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]