Harris comeback to win SuperUtes Race 3

Ryal Harris

Ryal Harris has come from seventh on the starting grid to win the final race of Round 1 of the ECB SuperUtes Series at the Adelaide 500.

Harris, who failed to finish Race 2 with a crew-induced technical issue, took the lead from eventual round winner Craig Woods on Lap 2 and held sway for the rest of the eight-lap encounter.

Woods and Tom Alexander started on the front row by virtue of round points to that point and while the latter was ahead through Senna Chicane, Woods got underneath the New Zealander at the end of Wakefield Street.

Harris wasted no time slicing his way through to third in his Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50 as those around him rubbed panels in the opening corners.

Alexander put his Ross Stone Racing Holden Colorado past Woods at Turn 4 on Lap 2, before Woods attempted to reclaim the position at Turn 9.

He drove his Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux down the inside but carried both well wide and Harris seized the lead.

The three-time V8 Ute Racing Series winner soon had a two-second margin while Alexander ended up pitting with a technical issue.

The top two of Harris and Woods ran their own races to the chequered flag as attention turned to an emerging battle for third.

Aaron Cameron in the other Peters BT-50 had started eighth and moved up to fourth by the halfway mark.

He then tailed Toby Price (Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton) for multiple laps but the 2016 Dakar winner looked to have enough to hold on to a third-place finish.

However, Price slid wide at the last corner of the race and while Cameron had carried a lock-up into the braking zone, he made the right-hander and took over the position as they entered the main straight.

Alexander and Ben Walsh (Western Sydney Hilux) were retirements from the race.

Woods’ consistency in the form of a trio of second placings earned him the round win and series lead, from Price and Harris, heading to the Winton SuperSprint for Round 2 on May 18-20.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 58 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 8 14:19.9941
2 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 8 14:20.7052
3 95 Bushranger Racing Aaron Cameron Mazda BT50 8 14:28.8077
4 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 8 14:29.3724
5 50 Team Mitsubishi Triton Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton 8 14:34.4822
6 99 Kubota Tractors Australia Matthew MacKelden Toyota Hilux 8 14:40.9904
7 49 Allgate Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 8 14:58.7393
8 18 AC Delco Racing Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado 8 15:03.5630
DNF 22 SP Tools Tom Alexander Holden Colorado 2 3:40.9842
DNF 8 Car City Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 2 3:53.7938

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Craig Woods 165
2 Toby Price 144
3 Ryal Harris 143
4 Matthew MacKelden 139
5 Thomas Gasperak 126
6 Aaron Cameron 118
7 Tom Alexander 97
8 Craig Dontas 83
9 Ben Walsh 81
10 Christopher Formosa 52

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]