Ross Stone Racing wins SuperUtes Race 2

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 3rd March, 2018 - 10:43am


Tom Alexander pic: Matthew Paul Photography

Ross Stone Racing’s Tom Alexander has taken a lights-to-flag win in Race 2 of the ECB SuperUtes Series at the Adelaide 500.

Alexander (Holden Colorado) started from the front row courtesy of a top four reverse and headed the field down Wakefield Street after the rolling start.

Toby Price, who was alongside Alexander, managed to catch his Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton despite a wild ride over the kerbs at Senna Chicane and file into second.

However, the 2016 Dakar winner spun on his own later in the lap at Turn 11 and backed into the wall.

That incident handed second position to Craig Woods (Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux), but he was soon overtaken by Ryal Harris and Craig Dontas (Sieders Triton), the latter of whom barged through at Turn 9.

Alexander and Harris traded fastest laps, Harris ultimately lowering the SuperUtes lap record to 1:44.7469s, around 2.5s quicker than the fastest lap he set in Race 1.

The final V8 Utes lap record at Adelaide, set on an R-spec tyre, was 1:35.3306s, also achieved by Harris in 2015.

Harris, however, retreated to pit lane after his Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50 began to drop fluid on Lap 5.

By that point, Alexander was out of sight and went on to win by 10.8s.

Woods finished second after Dontas slowed mid-race, and Matt MacKelden (Sieders Hilux) prevailed over Ben Walsh (Western Sydney Hilux) in a battle for third.

Price pressed on to finish fifth, ahead of Dontas and Tomas Gasperak (Team 18 Holden Colorado).

The non-finishers were Harris, Christopher Formosa (Ranger Racing Ford Ranger), and Aaron Cameron (Peters BT-50), who pulled in after the warm-up lap and attempted one racing lap thereafter.

Round 1 concludes with a third race tomorrow from 1015 local time/1045 AEDT.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 22 SP Tools Tom Alexander Holden Colorado 8 14:16.1251
2 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 8 14:26.9153
3 99 Kubota Tractors Australia Matthew MacKelden Toyota Hilux 8 14:42.3518
4 8 Car City Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 8 14:50.9247
5 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 8 14:55.2358
6 50 Team Mitsubishi Triton Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton 8 15:04.6794
7 18 AC Delco Racing Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado 8 15:05.6353
DNF 58 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 5 8:57.9851
DNF 49 Allgate Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 1 2:06.5668
DNF 95 Bushranger Racing Aaron Cameron Mazda BT50 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!