McLaughlin tops final practice

Mat Coch

Saturday 3rd March, 2018 - 11:17am


Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin topped the final practice session ahead of the opening race of the Adelaide 500, pipping Shane van Gisbergen in the closing moments.

The DJR Team Penske driver recorded a 1:19.8117s lap as van Gisbergen fell to fourth after late efforts saw Mark Winterbottom and Will Davison improve after the chequered flag.

As the session opened, McLaughlin put his DJR Team Penske Falcon fastest, immediately improving on that effort in an early qualifying simulation.

He book-ended the session with another simulation ahead of the Top 10 Shootout for today’s race, improving on his earlier best by  0.7s.

“The car feels a lot more comfortable underneath me and we tried a few things before qualifying yesterday but weren’t game enough to put them on for qualifying,” said McLaughlin.

“We just wanted to get in the shootout. Tuned her up over night and yeah, she’s a jet.”

A long night at Red Bull saw Whincup out on track despite his heavy Friday shunt, the seven-time champ wasting no time in getting up to speed.

“The car was very, very second hand as you saw yesterday and she’s good today,” Whincup said.

“I would’ve loved to have gone easy through Turn 8, but I’m like ‘no you gotta get back on the horse’ so, lap one, hooked in nice and hard like I normally would.

“I just pride myself on not letting anything like that slow you down, you just got to keep pushing forward.”

Tickford Racing pulled a rabbit out of a hat to get Cam Waters back on track for qualifying yesterday, though his car carried battle scars after he too found the wall at Turn 8 on Friday.

With the final repairs completed last night, Waters banked a 1:20.4859s as he ended the session just outside the top ten.

Team-mate Mark Winterbottom languished down the order until late in the session, when he recorded a 1:19.9182s to jump from 19th to second.

His time pushed Will Davison down to third, the Milwaukee Racing Falcon continuing the strong pace it displayed throughout Friday’s running.

Fifth fastest was David Reynolds for Erebus, then Whincup, the BJR duo of Tim Slade and Nick Percat, with Craig Lowndes and Rick Kelly rounding out the ten.

Fabian Coulthard could manage no better than 14th, one place behind lead rookie Richie Stanaway, while Chaz Mostert was 16th and Garth Tander, who didn’t opt for a new tyre run late in the session, was 17th.

The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship  is next on track for the Top 10 Shootout at 1155 local time (1225 AEDT).

Results: Practice 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.8117
2 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.9182 0:00.1065
3 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.0213 0:00.2096
4 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.0543 0:00.2426
5 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.1584 0:00.3467
6 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.2647 0:00.4530
7 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.3001 0:00.4884
8 8 Blackwoods Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.3154 0:00.5037
9 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.3975 0:00.5858
10 15 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:20.4160 0:00.6043
11 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.4577 0:00.6460
12 23 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:20.5180 0:00.7063
13 56 Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.5252 0:00.7135
14 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.5551 0:00.7434
15 99 Erebus Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.5750 0:00.7633
16 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.7594 0:00.9477
17 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.7626 0:00.9509
18 7 Nissan Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:20.9570 0:01.1453
19 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.9742 0:01.1625
20 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:21.1066 0:01.2949
21 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.1438 0:01.3321
22 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.1469 0:01.3352
23 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.3075 0:01.4958
24 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.3225 0:01.5108
25 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.3901 0:01.5784
26 21 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.9428 0:02.1311 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!