Commanding Evans eases to Carrera Cup victory

Mat Coch

Saturday 3rd March, 2018 - 1:51pm


Jaxon Evans pic: Porsche

A commanding performance from Jaxon Evans has seen him claim his first Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia win of the season in Adelaide.

Starting on the front row, the McElrea Racing driver jumped well to move into a lead from which he was never challenged.

He eked out a comfortable gap over second placed David Wall, with Dylan O’Keeffe rouding out the podium.

Having won Friday’s race, Dale Wood bogged down at the start and found himself swamped heading into the Senna Chicane for the first time.

Wood bounced over the kerb, doing well to hold on to the Porsche as it slewed sideways, instinctive reactions from O’Keeffe preventing the incident turning into a larger shunt.

James Moffat also found a way through to take fourth place, Wood dropping to sixth at the flag after also losing out to his Sonic Motorsport team-mate Michael Almond.

Roger Lago repeated his Race 1 feat to win the Pro-Am class as he ended the 15-lap encounter ninth.

Max Twigg and Stephen Grove rounded out the class podium, the duo locked in battle for 12th on the road.

Evans’ final margin of victory was just over two seconds from Wall, while a late move from Almond saw Moffat demoted to fifth within sight of the flag.

Post race penalties for kerb strikes at the Senna Chicane saw four drivers receive penalties, including Wood who was relegated behind Love as a result.

Porsche Carrera Cup returns to the streets of Adelaide for its final race at 0905 local time on Sunday morning.

Results: Porsche Carrera Cup, Race 2, Adelaide 500

Pos Car Driver Competitor/Team Laps Time
1 7 Jaxon Evans (QLD) Morris Finance 15 20:47.178
2 1 David Wall (NSW) PAYCE/Wilson Security 15 20:49.348
3 88 Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) Allstar Equipment Sales 15 20:51.267
4 77 Michael Almond (TBC) Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts 15 20:52.872
5 18 James Moffat (TBC) Payce/Wilson Security/JBL 15 20:53.113
6 777 Jordan Love (WA) Rodney Jane Racing 15 20:55.162
7 100 Dale Wood (VIC) Sonic/Polyflor 15 20:58.382
8 111 Cameron Hill (ACT) Southern Star Truck Centre/Any 15 21:02.401
9 23 Roger Lago (QLD) JBS Australia 15 21:15.967
10 12 Adam Garwood (TAS) Garwood Motorsport 15 21:18.548
11 8 Nick McBride (VIC) Porsche Centre Melbourne 15 21:18.590
12 80 Max Twigg (VIC) WM Waste Management 15 21:24.718
13 4 Stephen Grove (VIC) Grove Motorsport Pty Ltd 15 21:25.048
14 20 Adrian Flack (NSW) Agas National 15 21:28.476
15 19 Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) Hallmark Homes 15 21:32.682
16 9 Marc Cini (VIC) Hallmarc 15 21:35.274
17 13 Sam Shahin (SA) The Bend/htfu 15 21:35.701
18 15 Josh Hunt (QLD) Volante Rosso Motorsport 15 21:36.884
19 5 Greg Taylor (NSW) Arris/Strongbuild 15 21:40.617
20 14 Peter Major (SA) Sonic/Totally 4×4 15 21:41.043
21 888 Leanne Tander (VIC) Porsche Centre Brighton 15 21:46.652
22 22 Dean Cook (VIC) BMF/Pitman Racing 15 21:46.904
23 808 John Steffensen (VIC) Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne 15 22:22.401
24 131 Graham Williams (VIC) Sonic 14 21:15.562
25 35 Indiran Padayachee (NSW) Hyundai Forklifts Australia 14 21:25.175
DNF 6 Tim Miles (NSW) Miles Advisory Partners comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!