Evans storms to maiden Carrera Cup pole

Mat Coch

Friday 2nd March, 2018 - 10:00am


Jaxon Evans

A stunning lap as the chequered flag fell has seen Jaxon Evans claim his first Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia pole position.

The McElrea Racing driver shattered the four-year-old qualifying record lap by more than 0.2s with a 1:21.2952s.

At the time, Evans was the only driver in the 1:21 bracket, though Dale Wood soon joined him.

Wood temporarily held pole position earlier in the session, his 1:22.6423s effort coming in a busy period which saw times continue to tumble.

The intensely competitive session saw the top five covered by less than a tenth of a second before the final flurry saw Evans go 0.7s faster than anyone else had managed.

Roger Lago impressed upon his first Carrera Cup outing since Townsville 2015, the Pro-Am driver setting the fourth best time midway through the 20-minute session.

He ended qualifying tenth fastest, the second fastest Pro-Am competitor behind Anthony Gilbertson, with series debutant John Steffensen third in class and 12th on the grid.

Last year’s series winner David Wall will start from third ahead of Dylan O’Keeffe, Jordan Love, and James Moffat in sixth.

The opening Carrera Cup race of the weekend gets underway at 1245 local time (1215 AEDT).

Qualifying Results

Pos Car Driver Competitor/Team Time
1 7 Jaxon Evans Morris Finance 1:21.295
2 100 Dale Wood Sonic/Polyflor 1:21.547
3 1 David Wall PAYCE/Wilson Security 1:22.031
4 88 Dylan O’Keeffe Allstar Equipment Sales 1:22.100
5 777 Jordan Love Rodney Jane Racing 1:22.153
6 18 James Moffat Payce/Wilson Security/JBL 1:22.156
7 8 Nick McBride Porsche Centre Melbourne 1:22.498
8 19 Anthony Gilbertson Hallmark Homes 1:22.688
9 111 Cameron Hill Southern Star Truck Centre/Any 1:22.934
10 23 Roger Lago JBS Australia 1:22.967
11 77 Michael Almond Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts 1:23.007
12 808 John Steffensen Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne 1:23.324
13 12 Adam Garwood Garwood Motorsport 1:23.392
14 14 Peter Major Sonic/Totally 4×4 1:23.555
15 4 Stephen Grove Grove Motorsport Pty Ltd 1:23.629
16 20 Adrian Flack Agas National 1:23.696
17 15 Josh Hunt Volante Rosso Motorsport 1:23.770
18 6 Tim Miles Miles Advisory Partners 1:24.053
19 888 Leanne Tander Porsche Centre Brighton 1:24.105
20 13 Sam Shahin The Bend/htfu 1:24.114
21 22 Dean Cook BMF/Pitman Racing 1:24.595
22 9 Marc Cini Hallmarc 1:24.722
23 80 Max Twigg WM Waste Management 1:24.747
24 5 Greg Taylor Arris/Strongbuild 1:24.867
25 131 Graham Williams Sonic 1:28.177
26 35 Indiran Padayachee Hyundai Forklifts Australia 1:28.572 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!