Iconic Supercars mark Adelaide event milestone

Tom Howard

Thursday 1st March, 2018 - 2:24pm


The 2006 and 2012 Triple Eight cars on display at Adelaide

A special collection of vintage Supercars will mark the 20th running of the Adelaide 500.

Organisers alongside Supercars historian and broadcaster Aaron Noonan has collated an array of cars that competed on the Adelaide streets since the event’s inception ranging from 1999 to 2012.

CLICK HERE for an extended gallery of the display.

Fans will be able to get up close to the cars which are housed in a marquee on the exit of Gate 10 at the Adelaide Parklands Circuit.

The selection includes cars that have taken wins in Adelaide.

Triple Eight’s 2006 Betta Electrical Ford Falcon, driven by Craig Lowndes, to victory in the South Australian capital, features.

The chassis also claimed an emotional win at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 alongside Jamie Whincup.

Garth Tander’s Garry Rogers Motorsport Commodore that was successful in 2000 before going on to win at Mount Panorama is present along with the Holden Racing Team Commodore which Todd Kelly drove to victory on the VE’s debut in 2007.

The Triple Eight VE Commodore which holds the record for the most Supercars race wins is part of the group.

Raced and now owned by Whincup, the chassis scored 28 race wins including the 2012 Bathurst 1000 alongside Paul Dumbrell.

This weekend will be the car’s first public appearance in five years.

A selection of cars will head out on track throughout the weekend to complete demonstration laps, including the Dick Johnson Racing Falcon that Will Davison scored his first ever race win in at Sydney Motorsport Park in 2008.

Now owned by Charlie Schwerkolt, the car will be driven by Preston Hire Racing co-driver Matthew Brabham.

Meanwhile, another iconic car part of the collection is the Russell Ingall 2003 Stone Brothers Racing BA Falcon, which was involved in a famous clash with Mark Skaife at Sydney Motorsport Park.

CLICK HERE to view more photos.

Below is the list of 20 cars on display this weekend.

Caltex Halvoline Stone Brothers Falcon BA Russell Ingall 2003-2004
Supercheap Auto Racing Falcon AU Steven Ellery 2001-2002
Holden Racing Team Commodore VE Todd Kelly 2007
Jim Beam Racing DJR Falcon BF Will Davison 2007-2008 livery
Ford Performance Racing Falcon BA Glenn Seton 2004
Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Commodore VF Nick Percat 2016 Adelaide 500 winner
Castrol Perkins Racing Commodore VT Russell Ingall 1999 Adelaide 500
Valvoline GRM Commodore VE Lee Holdsworth 2008 Clipsal 500 runner-up
Volvoline GRM Commodore VT Garth Tander 2000 Adelaide 500 winner
Team Betta Electrical Falcon BA Craig Lowndes 2006 Saturday winner, 2005 runner-up
Team Dynamik Commodore VY Jason Richards 2003
Team Vodafone Commodore VE II Jamie Whincup 2011 Adelaide 500 winner
Stone Brothers Racing Falcon FG Alex Davison 2011
Stone Brothers Racing Falcon AU Mark Winterbottom 2003 Super2 Adelaide winner
Ford Performance Racing Falcon BA Craig Lowndes 2004
Holden Racing Team Commodore VE Todd Kelly 2007 Saturday winner
Supercheap Auto Racing Commodore VZ Greg Murphy 2002-2006
Holden Racing Team Commodore VY Mark Skaife 2004; also ‘Shriek at the Creek’
Smith Trucks Racing Commodore VY Steven Richards 2000*
John Briggs Motor Sport Falcon EL John Briggs 1999

* Raced as Gibson Motorsport Kmart Commodore VT in 2000 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!