Evans fastest on Carrera Cup opening day

Mat Coch

Thursday 1st March, 2018 - 6:14pm


Jaxon Evans

Jaxon Evans ended the opening day of the 2018 Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia season on top after setting the fastest time in the day’s final practice session.

Having kept his powder drive during the first half of the session, Evans went to the top of the standings with a 1:22.1654s shortly after the midway point.

Not done there, the McElrea Racing driver then backed off for a lap before a second effort resulted with a 1:21.6986s.

Michael Almond, who’d been fastest in the opening practice session, ended the day 0.240s off Evans’ pace.

Almond had set the early pace before Nick McBride put in a sequence of quick laps, progressively moving the marker from 1:23.0549s to 1:22.6420s.

However that was a time he was unable to improve on, and though it saw him fastest for a time he ended the session a time which left him sixth in the session results.

Dale Wood ended the day third fastest ahead of James Moffat and 2017 series winner David Wall, the top seven covered by less than a second.

The leading Pro-Am driver was Anthony Gilbertson, though Stephen Grove and Roger Lago both also had stints as the fastest non-professional.

Carrera Cup next takes to the circuit for qualifying on Friday morning at 0835 local time.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Fastest lap Split
1 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans (QLD) P 1:21.6986
2 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts Michael Almond (TBC) P 1:21.9385 0:00.2399
3 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) P 1:22.2418 0:00.5432
4 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat (TBC) P 1:22.2656 0:00.5670
5 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall (NSW) P 1:22.3881 0:00.6895
6 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) P 1:22.6420 0:00.9434
7 88 Allstar Equipment Sales Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) P 1:22.6701 0:00.9715
8 777 Rodney Jane Racing Jordan Love (WA) P 1:22.9723 0:01.2737
9 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) A 1:23.1326 0:01.4340
10 111 Southern Star Truck Centre/Any Cameron Hill (ACT) P 1:23.2575 0:01.5589
11 4 Grove Motorsport Pty Ltd Stephen Grove (VIC) A 1:23.3610 0:01.6624
12 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) A 1:23.3709 0:01.6723
13 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major (SA) P 1:23.9228 0:02.2242
14 15 Volante Rosso Motorsport Josh Hunt (QLD) P 1:24.0960 0:02.3974
15 888 Porsche Centre Brighton Leanne Tander (VIC) P 1:24.4747 0:02.7761
16 20 Agas National Adrian Flack (NSW) A 1:24.7502 0:03.0516
17 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood (TAS) P 1:24.7513 0:03.0527
18 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) A 1:24.8225 0:03.1239
19 808 Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne John Steffensen (VIC) A 1:24.9599 0:03.2613
20 80 WM Waste Management Max Twigg (VIC) A 1:24.9639 0:03.2653
21 6 Miles Advisory Partners Tim Miles (NSW) A 1:24.9938 0:03.2952
22 13 The Bend/htfu Sam Shahin (SA) A 1:25.4101 0:03.7115
23 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook (VIC) A 1:25.4714 0:03.7728
24 5 Arris/Strongbuild Greg Taylor (NSW) A 1:25.8990 0:04.2004
25 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee (NSW) A 1:30.7300 0:09.0314
26 131 Sonic Graham Williams (VIC) A 1:30.9354 0:09.2368 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!