Unchanged co-driver line-up for DJRTP

Daniel Herrero

Wednesday 28th February, 2018 - 11:30am


Alexandre Premat, Scott McLaughlin, Fabian Coulthard, and Tony D’Alberto

Alexandre Premat and Tony D’Alberto will reprise their roles as co-drivers for DJR Team Penske’s Pirtek Enduro Cup campaign in 2018.

D’Alberto will partner Fabian Coulthard for the third year in a row, while Premat again shares the #17 Shell V-Power Falcon with Scott McLaughlin.

The latter pairing was formed at Garry Rogers Motorsport for the 2014 enduros and will carry on for a fourth season in five.

The New Zealander and Frenchman bagged a come-from-behind win together on the Sunday in last year’s Vodafone Gold Coast 600, as well as a runner-up finish in the Sandown 500.

“Alex is a good mate, and a known quantity in Supercars racing,” said McLaughlin.

“I’ve known him for many years, and have driven with him across the Pirtek Enduro Cup for most of my full-time career.

“His drive on the Gold Coast last year set us up for that sensational win coming from 13th on the grid. Hopefully we can take the big one at Bathurst together.”

Premat added, “Being a part of Shell V-Power Racing Team in 2017 was fantastic, and I am very proud to be a part of such a professional organisation.

“Scott and I want to put our stamp on Bathurst history, and take victory in the Pirtek Enduro Cup.”

Coulthard and D’Alberto last year combined for a third placing in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and the same position in the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

“Tony is a talented, dependable co-driver; a guy that is level-headed, reliable and knows what he needs to do as a part of the Shell V-Power Racing Team,” said Coulthard

“I’m pumped to have him back with me this year, and hope we can improve on our 2017 effort.”

D’Alberto drove with Coulthard in his first Bathurst 1000, at Tasman Motorsport, and last year’s podium was a first for each in The Great Race.

The 2007 Super2 Series winner was pleased to stay with DJRTP.

“Being a part of this team’s driver line-up is something that I’m very proud of,” said D’Alberto.

“Knowing that you have the very best equipment and team around you is extremely exciting as a driver, so to be getting my third opportunity to drive for them is fantastic.

“Now we just need to hit fast forward so it’s time for the Pirtek Enduro Cup.”

The Pirtek Enduro Cup starts with the Sandown 500 from September 14-16.

In addition to the stable co-driver line-up, DJRTP has confirmed that its Shell V-Power livery will remain unchanged for 2018.

The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship starts with Practice 1 at the Adelaide 500 on Friday from 0945 local time/1015 AEDT. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!