TCM announces four-race format for 2018

Touring Car Masters at last year’s Coates Hire Newcastle 500

Touring Car Masters has revamped its weekend format for 2018 with four races to be held at each of its eight rounds.

Each round will feature one practice session, one qualifying session, and four races, of which the first three will be competitive Series Races and the fourth the Trophy Race.

The change effectively represents the replacement of a practice session with another full points-paying race, while the Trophy Race will continue to provide 10 points for each starter and another 10 for each finisher.

The Series Races, which will be numbered as they fall in the season from 1 to 24, again count towards both class and overall titles, with five points also going to the pole-sitter.

Series Races will be run with progressive grids and the Trophy Race again with a reversed grid, while each race will be started by way of a rolling start.

The format change makes for a record 32 races, including the Trophy Races at each round.

Television has also been confirmed with all sessions live on Fox Sports throughout the season and selected races on Network Ten.

All eight rounds support the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, beginning with practice in Adelaide on Thursday at 1100 local time/1130 AEDT.

Steven Johnson will be attempting to defend the title which he clinched on the streets of Newcastle last November.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]