Daytona 500 starting grid set

Alex Bowman started from pole for Duel 1 and will do so again in the Daytona 500

Final practice is over and the starting grid for NASCAR’s season-opening Daytona 500 has been set.

Alex Bowman took pole and Denny Hamlin the other front row position as a result of qualifying, while Ryan Blaney and Chase Elliott start behind them having won their respective Duels.

Among those who have been sent to the rear of the grid due to having to revert to spare cars are Clash winner Brad Keselowski and seven-time Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson.

Keselowski tangled with Jamie McMurray late in Duel 1, while Johnson crashed in both that encounter and the Clash.

Drivers will be issued the command to start their engines by Dale Earnhardt Jnr tomorrow at 0653 AEDT.

Starting Grid: Daytona 500

Pos Num Driver Make Team
1 88 Alex Bowman Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
2 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
3 12 Ryan Blaney Ford Team Penske
4 9 Chase Elliott Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
5 22 Joey Logano Ford Team Penske
6 4 Kevin Harvick Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
7 43 Darrell Wallace Jnr Chevrolet Richard Petty Motorsports
8 20 Erik Jones Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
9 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jnr Ford Roush Fenway Racing
10 14 Clint Bowyer Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
11 41 Kurt Busch Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
12 18 Kyle Busch Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
13 31 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
14 3 Austin Dillon Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
15 38 David Ragan Ford Front Row Motorsports
16 21 Paul Menard Ford Wood Brothers Racing
17 19 Daniel Suarez Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
18 6 Trevor Bayne Ford Roush Fenway Racing
19 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Chip Ganassi Racing
20 47 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet JTG Daugherty Racing
21 37 Chris Buescher Chevrolet JTG Daugherty Racing
22 34 Michael McDowell Ford Front Row Motorsports
23 13 Ty Dillon Chevrolet Germain Racing
24 78 Martin Truex Jnr Toyota Furniture Row Racing
25 62 Brendan Gaughan Chevrolet Beard Motorsports
26 95 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet Leavine Family Racing
27 00 Jeffrey Earnhardt Chevrolet StarCom Racing
28 7 Danica Patrick Chevrolet Premium Motorsports
29 51 Justin Marks Chevrolet Rick Ware Racing
30 96 DJ Kennington Toyota Gaunt Brothers Racing
31 2 Brad Keselowski Ford Team Penske
32 72 Corey LaJoie Chevrolet TriStar Motorsports
33 24 William Byron Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
34 23 Gray Gaulding Toyota BK Racing
35 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
36 32 Matt DiBenedetto Ford Go Fas Racing
37 10 Aric Almirola Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
38 42 Kyle Larson Chevrolet Chip Ganassi Racing
39 92 David Gilliland Ford RBR Enterprises
40 66 Mark Thompson Ford Phoenix Air Racing

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]