CAMS recognises award winners at Gala

2017 CAMS Motor Sport Awards Gala Dinner

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport has recognised the sport’s highest achievers throughout 2017 in a gala awards night in Melbourne.

Winners of national championships and series were awarded, together with off-track contributors to the sport ranging from officials to the media.

“When we look back on 2017, we were lucky enough to witness some amazing achievements both on and off the track,” said Andrew Papadopoulos, CAMS President.

“Grassroots motor sport is alive and well and is the cornerstone of our sport.

“CAMS is committed to its support of the grassroots and we are focused on ensuring that support is meaningful and continuing.”

Super2 racer Will Brown received the Peter Brock Medal, while Matt Campbell was awarded the Sir Jack Brabham Award as he continues his rise through the international ranks.

Also among the award winners was editor Tom Howard, who was named Motor Sport Journalist of the Year.

Having been recognised by the FIA, Roger Chirnside received the Castrol Official of the Year Award for 2017.

CAMS National Awards winners:

CAMS Awards
Life Membership: Ben Rainsford, Peter Macneall, Paul Hamilton, Angus Black, Paul Overell
Castrol Australian Official of the Year: Roger Chirnside
Peter Brock Medal: Will Brown
CAMS Young Driver of the Year: Cameron Shields
Sir Jack Brabham Award: Matt Campbell
CAMS Award of Merit: Steve Chopping
Presidential Citation: Will Hagon

2017 CAMS National Winners
Australian Khanacross Champion: Michael Clements
Australian Motorkhana Champion: Scott Bennett
Australian Hill Climb Champion: Brett Hayward
Australian Supersprint Champion: Vikki Paxton
Australian Side by Side (SXS) Champion: Ewan McClue
Australian Off-Road Champion: Matthew Martin (Driver) & Chris Clarke (Co-Driver)
Australian Endurance Champion: Dominic Storey & Peter Hackett
Australian Formula 4 Champion: Nicholas Rowe
Australian GT Champion: Geoff Emery
Australian Rally Champions: Nathan Quinn (Driver) & Bill Hayes (Co-Driver)
Australian 2WD Rally Champion: Adam Kaplan (Driver) & Aleshia Penney (Co-Driver)

2017 CAMS National Series Winners
Dunlop Super 2 Series Winner: Todd Hazelwood
 Australian 2WD Classic Rally Challenge Winners: Trevor Stilling (Driver) & Tony Brandon (Co-Driver)
Porsche Carrera Cup Australia Winner: David Wall
Australian V8 Ute Racing Series Winner: Kim Jane

Australian Off Road Class Winners
AORC – Pro Buggy Class Winners: Travis Robinson (Driver) & Trent Anthony (Co-Driver)
AORC – Extreme 4WD Class Winners: Paul Malt (Driver) & Michelle Malt (Co-Driver) & Rick Norris (Co-Driver)
AORC – Super 1650 Buggy Class Winners: Declan Cummins (Driver) & Sam Phillips and Patrick Philp (Co-Drivers)
AORC – Extreme 2WD Class Winners: Michael McLean (Driver) & John Stewart (Co-Driver)
AORC – Prolite Buggy Class Winners: Chris Browning (Driver) & Chris Clarke (Co-Driver)
AORC – Production 4WD Class Winners: Geoff Pickering (Driver) & Dylan Watson (Co-Driver)
AORC – Superlite Class A Class Winners: Gary Taylor (Driver) & Jamie Hacker (Co-Driver)
AORC – Superlite Class B Class Winners: Greg Campbell (Driver) & Alex Powe, Allison Campbell and Joshua Bennett (Co-Drivers)
AORC – Sportslite Class Winner: Waylon Jaggard (Driver)

Aussie Racing Cars Women’s Cup Winner
Charlotte Poynting

Karting Australia Awards
KA1 Winner: Scott Sorensen
KA2 Winner: Broc Feeney
KZ2 Winner: Joshua File

CAMS Motor Sport Media Awards
Media Service Award Winners: Ian Smith, Stuart Bowes, Paul Cross
Motor Sport Journalist of the Year: Tom Howard
Motor Sport Photograph of the Year: Dirk Klynsmith
Motor Sport Photographer of the Year: Dirk Klynsmith

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]