Marquez fastest, Miller third as Buriram test continues

Marc Marquez pic: MotoGP Twitter

The Repsol Hondas of Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa have gone one-two on Day 2 of the MotoGP test at Buriram as Jack Miller ended the hit-out third-fastest.

Marquez clocked up 97 laps during the eight-hour session, the second-highest total of the day, including time spent testing aerodynamic devices.

Having lost top spot to Pedrosa earlier in the day, Marquez went fastest again on his 91st lap and became the first and so far only man to lap the future grand prix venue in under 90 seconds.

Pedrosa’s best just before the halfway mark stood up for second, while Miller set his fastest lap in a late run on his Pramac Ducati GP17.

Yamaha riders Maverick Viñales (factory team) and Johann Zarco (Tech3) were next on the order, followed by Miller’s team-mate Danilo Petrucci, who did not go after a hot lap.

Friday fast man Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) went faster again on Day 2 as he ended up eighth on the timesheets, one position behind the man who shadowed him the day before, Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar).

The Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso and Jorge Lorenzo rounded out the top 10, while Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) was 14th.

The test concludes tomorrow.

Pre-season testing: Buriram: Day 2

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:29.969
2 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:30.127 0.158/0.158
3 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:30.185 0.216/0.058
4 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:30.274 0.305/0.089
5 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:30.360 0.391/0.086
6 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:30.367 0.398/0.007
7 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:30.446 0.477/0.079
8 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:30.490 0.521/0.044
9 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:30.494 0.525/0.004
10 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 1:30.729 0.760/0.235
11 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:30.775 0.806/0.046
12 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:30.855 0.886/0.080
13 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:30.883 0.914/0.028
14 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:30.888 0.919/0.005
15 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:30.901 0.932/0.013
16 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:31.113 1.144/0.212
17 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:31.130 1.161/0.017
18 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:31.185 1.216/0.055
19 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:31.598 1.629/0.413
20 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:31.637 1.668/0.039
21 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:31.661 1.692/0.024
22 12 Tom LUTHI SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:31.994 2.025/0.333
23 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:31.998 2.029/0.004
24 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:32.267 2.298/0.269

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]