Crutchlow pips Rins on Day 1 of Buriram test

Cal Crutchlow pic: MotoGP Twitter

Cal Crutchlow has pipped Alex Rins by a narrow margin on the first day of MotoGP running at the Buriram International Circuit in Thailand.

Crutchlow shook off an earlier crash to lap the newest circuit on the calendar in a best time of 1:30.797s on his LCR Honda during the final hour of the eight-hour session.

Rins went second-fastest also during the same hour, falling just 0.012s short of top spot on his Suzuki.

Defending world champion Marc Marquez had been fastest for the majority of the day and the Repsol Honda rider’s best effort held up for third position by the end of the session.

Ducati Team riders Andrea Dovizioso and Jorge Lorenzo each tested a different aerodynamic fairing as they were classified fourth and 10th respectively.

Jack Miller was seventh-fastest, one position behind Pramac Ducati team-mate Danilo Petrucci.

Of the Movistar Yamahas, Valentino Rossi was eighth-fastest on his 39th birthday and Maverick Viñales 11th.

Red Bell KTM’s Pol Espargaro is sitting out the test after suffering a spinal disc herniation in a high-speed crash during the most recent test at Sepang.

The three-day test continues tomorrow.

Pre-season testing: Buriram: Day 1

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:30.797
2 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:30.809 0.012/0.012
3 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:30.912 0.115/0.103
4 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:30.945 0.148/0.033
5 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:30.960 0.163/0.015
6 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:31.003 0.206/0.043
7 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:31.044 0.247/0.041
8 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:31.189 0.392/0.145
9 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:31.235 0.438/0.046
10 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 1:31.246 0.449/0.011
11 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:31.294 0.497/0.048
12 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:31.305 0.508/0.011
13 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:31.523 0.726/0.218
14 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:31.525 0.728/0.002
15 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:31.662 0.865/0.137
16 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:31.685 0.888/0.023
17 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:31.692 0.895/0.007
18 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:31.698 0.901/0.006
19 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:31.729 0.932/0.031
20 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:31.741 0.944/0.012
21 12 Tom LUTHI SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:32.716 1.919/0.975
22 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:32.720 1.923/0.004
23 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:32.749 1.952/0.029
24 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:33.165 2.368/0.416

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]