Supercars launches the 2018 season in Sydney

Tom Howard

Thursday 15th February, 2018 - 11:26am


The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has been launched at Fox Studios in Sydney

The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship officially kicked off the 2018 season with a launch ceremony in Sydney.

All 26 of the full-time drivers attended the event at Fox Studios in Moore Park as the series prepares for an expanded 16 round championship.

Jamie Whincup will be aiming to defend his title to secure an unprecedented eighth championship in the brand new Holden ZB Commodore set to debut this season.

However he will likely a face stern challenge from the chasing pack from March until the final round in Newcastle in November.

A total of five rookies will make the step up, namely Jack Le Brocq, Richie Stanaway, James Golding, Anton De Pasquale, and 2017 Dunlop Super2 Series winner Todd Hazelwood.

As previously reported, the series will conduct its first championship round at the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix in March, featuring twilight races.

August is also a landmark month with the first Supercars event at the new Bend Motorsport Park in South Australia, three weeks after the return of night racing with the Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300 at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Supercars will begin at Adelaide 500 from March 1-4 which will bring up its 20th anniversary this year, while Townsville celebrates 10 years on the calendar.

The Townsville event will welcome Australian music icon John Farnham as its lead entertainment act.

Supercars 2018 Entry List

Team Manufacturer Driver
Shell V-Power Racing Ford #12 Fabian Coulthard
Shell V-Power Racing Ford #17 Scott McLaughlin
Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden #1 Jamie Whincup
Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden #97 Shane van Gisbergen
Autobarn Lowndes Racing Holden #888 Craig Lowndes
Tekno Autosports Holden #19 Jack Le Brocq
Tickford Racing Ford #5 Mark Winterbottom
Supercheap Auto Racing (Tickford) Ford #55 Chaz Mostert
Tickford Racing Ford #56 Richie Stanaway
Tickford Racing Ford #6 Cam Waters
Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden #33 Garth Tander
Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden #34 James Golding
Erebus Motorsport Holden #9 David Reynolds
Erebus Motorsport Holden #99 Anton De Pasquale
Nissan Motorsport Nissan #15 Rick Kelly
Nissan Motorsport Nissan #23 Michael Caruso
Nissan Motorsport Nissan #78 Simona de Silvestro
Nissan Motorsport Nissan #7 Andre Heimgartner
Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden #25 James Courtney
Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden #2 Scott Pye
Brad Jones Racing Holden #14 Tim Slade
Brad Jones Racing Holden #8 Nick Percat
Tim Blanchard Racing Holden #21 Tim Blanchard
Matt Stone Racing Ford #35 Todd Hazelwood
Preston Hire Racing Holden #18 Lee Holdsworth
23Red Racing Ford #230 Will Davison comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!